Its Intel Core 2 Duo?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Eric Lewis, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #1
    Whats so special about SANTA ROSA? and the whole intel core duo 2? etc im so lost with this..i dont understand? can someone explain in easy to understand stuff? and my iMac is a 2.0ghz SR Intel Core 2 Duo? what does that all mean? the 2ghz? and SR? and Intel Core 2 Duo?
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Santa Rosa is the first step into life beyond 3GB, 4GB full speed ahead and maybe as high as 8GB with this chipset.

    But on the MacBook you will be able to see the other biggie it brings, an updated integrated GPU.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    2.0GHz is the operating speed of the processor (2,000,000,000 cycles per second)

    Santa Rosa is the name of the platform or system design of you computer. It includes the processor and associated hardware to make your computer run. It improves over the older Napa platform by providing a faster connection between the processor and other components, upgraded graphics unit, capability to address more memory and lower power usage.

    Core 2 Duo is the processor design itself. The Core architecture is derived from the old Pentium Pros. 2 is the second revision of this and it widens the internal communication paths of the old Core machines and improves overall speed by 10-25%. Duo means there are 2 processors on one chip as opposed to Solo which only had one and Quad which has 4.
     
  4. AutumnSkyline macrumors regular

    AutumnSkyline

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #4
    Okay, you have the 2.0 GHz iMac. 2 GHz is the clock speed that the processor runs at. The processor reads the information that is on the hard disk, and opens applications.

    You have an Intel Core 2 Duo machine (as do I) this means that it has two processor cores on the same chip. Effectively having 2 processors in one computer. This makes running applications faster than a single core 2 GHz processor, because it can split the work load between the two cores. So some information would go to one core, and the other information would go to the other core.

    Santa Rosa is the platform, or type of motherboard that the processor and RAM are built into. The SR platform can handle 4 GB of RAM.

    If you need anything explained more, I will be happy to oblige
     
  5. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #5
    So the iMac has 2 (1ghz) processors? or 2 (2ghz) processors?
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Seeing as you are talking about the iMac, the graphics unit doesn't apply as Apple uses a faster dedicated graphics card rather than the slower integrated one that is available as part of Santa Rosa.

    2X2GHz
     
  7. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #7
    on the baseline iMac 2.0ghz? how are the graphics? its a dedicated card correct? would the sims 2 work?

    so then its really 4ghz....correct?

    Then what would be faster?

    AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3200+
    2.2GHz
    704mb ram
    (windows xp)

    vs

    SR Intel Core 2 Duo
    2.0ghz
    1gb of ram
    (mac)
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    Almost certainly. Its a bit of a step down from the card in the older iMacs but still good for casual gaming on undemanding games.

    By a large margin, the Core 2 Duo will be faster. Not only does it have a second processor but the Core 2 architecture is considerably faster than the Athlon XP at the same clock speed. Modern programs will make use of as many processors that are available.
     
  9. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #9
    The imac will eat the sims up for breakfast. You'll just need to decide whether you'll be playing on windows or on mac? Since Mac's can run both operating systems.
     
  10. Eric Lewis thread starter macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #10
    so how would iMovie and iDVD (around 1hour home firewire videos)

    and iPhoto with 5000 photos? would they lag and freeze..

    my eMac 1ghz G4 512mb ram..with iMovie and iPhoto and iDVD..it runs so slow and freezes and lags..and rendering takes so long!
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #11
    I use iMovie and iDVD on my MacBook with the integrated graphics of the older Napa platform and they are pretty snappy. You should be fine.

    For a CPU comparison look at this chart.
    http://www.cpubenchmark.net/common_cpus.html
     
  12. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    Try to ignore the megahertz. It's only useful for comparing two identical processor versions.
     

Share This Page