It's sad to confess, but...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Senor360, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. Senor360 macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #1
    I've gone ahead and ordered 4gig of ram from OWC for an iMac I don't even own yet. :eek: Wife says I have issues. Buying upgrades to a system I haven't picked up yet. :D

    Would it be ok to slap the new memory in before even booting it up for the first time? Or should I power it up once, go through the setup, then do the upgrade?
     
  2. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #2
    No, upgrading first should be fine.

    There is no problem with being organised. ;)
     
  3. gorby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #3
    Should be fine upgrading before you even start it up.

    I personally waited before I got my 4GB upgrade-- just to know what it feels like/what its limitations are, with the stock 1GB.

    I gotta say, that dramatic increase in performance is quite a good feeling.


    My major Apple milestones:

    iMac (first Mac ever!) ----> Adobe CS3 ---> 4GB RAM ---> Upgrading to Leopard (have free upgrade disc, just haven't done it yet)
     
  4. CalMin macrumors 6502a

    CalMin

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #4
    boot it first. if the ram is bad and your machine has issues, you would not know unless you had first run it factory fresh.
     
  5. WhiteNoiseMaker macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #5
    This is even more sad, i bought 4GB in December and a 1TB Western Digital My Book for an iMac i don't even own yet! Hopefully the updates will come soon...
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    haha you are thinking ahead of time!
     
  7. Senor360 thread starter macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #7
    Wow...

    Don't feel quite that bad anymore.. thanks. :) Now, your luck, the update will use a different type of memory then what you bought, leaving you stuck with 4gb. :eek: ;)
     
  8. Techguy172 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #8
    That would suck but it wouldn't happen.
     
  9. brad.c macrumors 68020

    brad.c

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    50.813669°, -2.474796°
    #9
    Maybe I SHOULD pickup that Porsche custom fitted car cover now...
     
  10. WhiteNoiseMaker macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #10
    I'm not too worried about the RAM not working in the new version. There is always some fool on eBay willing to pay more for it than I did! :D
     
  11. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #11
    Just to be on the safe site, I booted mine first to make sure everything was working before I upgraded the RAM.
     
  12. juanster macrumors 68020

    juanster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    toronto
    #12
    yes i think if it was me i would play around with my new mac ofr the first day or two with 1gb just so that i can be surprised of how much faster 4gb is...oh and also to make sure it's not a doa machine...unlikely but it can happen..
     
  13. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #13
    Best advice in this thread.
     
  14. Senor360 thread starter macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #14
    Another item to add..

    Don't recall where I read this but dropped by the closest, still surviving CompUSA and picked up the AppleCare for my future iMac. Can't beat 50% off!
     
  15. hydrokayak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Lancaster, NH
    #15
    I may have to do the same thing with the ACP -- great idea!

    I ordered my RAM online about a week before I bought the iMac. It was on sale, so I figured I'd jump at it.

    The iMac should be here tomorrow -- I'm really excited!!!
     
  16. Senor360 thread starter macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #16
    The question now is...

    Do I activate the AppleCare right away or wait till day 89 of the 90 day standard warranty? To get that extra 'free' 3 months? :)
     
  17. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #17
    That's not how AppleCare works. The standard warranty is 1 year, and AppleCare just extends it to 3. If you buy AppleCare with the computer or you buy it 364 days into the warranty, it's still the same.
     
  18. hempcamp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    DC/VA
    #18
    Definitely OK, especially since you can rest pretty soundly knowing the OWC memory won't cause issues.

    I did this with mine. The biggest advantage of upgrading memory before powering up the first time was that I still had the foam cover on the display so as to be doubly cautious while tipping the thing on its face!

    --Chris
     
  19. YuriVoorhak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #19
    Knock on wood, but I think that's the best way to do it. Usually by then I can guess whether I'm going to need AppleCare for that machine or not.
     
  20. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #20
    But you lose phone support after 90 days.
     
  21. YuriVoorhak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #21
    Fair enough. I guess I take for granted that my AppleCare experiences have always been, "I have nailed x problem down to y hardware failure, fix now plz kthx".
     
  22. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #22
    Your not alone! Back when I ordered my 24" a few months ago, I already had the RAM, two external hard drives, and a wireless keyboard and mouse sitting at home waiting for it to arrive, hehe. And yes, I also installed the RAM as soon as I took the new machine out of the box.
     
  23. r-gordon-7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #23
    Similar story/affliction here - I bought numerous accessories, software, etc. for my first-ever Mac (a black MacBook w/4GB + 250GB hard drive) as soon as I ordered the MacBook last December on eBay. The accessories arrived. The MacBook didn't (bad seller...) Eventually I got my MacBook money back from eBay/PayPal and ordered a different similarly configured black MacBook from another seller. It arrived yesterday, two months after all the accessories.

    One of the accessories was a black leather snap-on padded cover - another accessory was a Pinder bag. Turns out the MacBook w/out the snap-on cover would be a tight fit - with the snap-on cover it barely fits at all. Hopefully the Pinder bag will stretch a bit over time...

    Another problem - one of the accessories I bought was one of those thin black opaque rubber skins to cover/protect the keyboard & palm rest area. It has the key lettering printed on it. Looks great - but... I didn't realize it was for the pre SR keyboard, so some of the keys don't match - and as this is my first experience ever with a Mac, I'm lost enough trying to figure everything out WITH the keys correctly visible - I'd be hopelessly lost if I used the keyboard skin covering up the key labels & showing many of them incorrectly!!

    (Anyone know if a full-size opaque black keyboard skin covering both the keyboard and the palm area around the trackpad is available yet for the SR black MacBook????)

    Oh well...

    r-gordon-7
     
  24. Senor360 thread starter macrumors regular

    Senor360

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #24
    Update..

    Like another poster mentioned.. putting the memory in while the foam covering was still on was probably the best way to go for me. I had it resting on the iMac box, took out the old memory, popped in the new and then had it running. No hiccups. 4gb recognized. When I purchased it, I asked the guy at the Apple store, 'what's up with Apple charging $850 for 4gb when I bought that for $99?'. He looked around and said he didn't understand it either. :rolleyes:
     
  25. Mac Addict macrumors member

    Mac Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #25
    Wish I would have done this. Instead I've had to wait a week now for my 4gigs o mem. Meanwhile only having 1gig o mem.

    As previously posted, I would first fire up the machine and make sure all is well. then shutdown and install the memory.
     

Share This Page