It's that time again!! Chapter exercises! Loops, Yippee!!

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by cybrscot, Feb 7, 2011.

1. cybrscot macrumors 6502

cybrscot

Okay, below I will copy my problem from the book, and my "pseudo code" then I had another idea on how to write the code, so I have a second "pseudo code" example. Are either on the right track? Which should I further develop if any? First time writing a loop, so wasn't really sure where to start.

Code:
    //I'm trying to think about how to begin writng this program, so I want to put my 
    //ideas on paper, (like pseudo code, because I don't really know how to do that-
    //but this is my first attempt at some kind of pseudo code)
    //Since this chapter taught loops, while, do and for, I'm sure this exercise will need
    //a loop, but how do I know which one works best? 

//pseudo code for exercise 1 chapter 6

//exercise........
    //Write a program that finds the largest in a series of numbers 
    //entered by the user.  The program must prompt the user to enter numbers
    //one by one.  When the user enters 0 or a negative number, the program must 
    //display the largest nonnegative number entered.  The numbers musn't necessarily
    //be integers.

//Is the below anywhere close?  I'm curious to know how the user can continue to store 
    //new numbers in &user_number, wouldn't each new number entered overwrite the previously
    //entered number?  Or will the numbers somehow be kept seperated in user_number? I'm thinking 
    //that each new user entry of a number needs to be user_number1, user_number2, etc. etc.
    //But since this is a loop, it's going to keep using the same printf, scanf. 

// Known problem... I have no idea how to tell the computer to print the largest number of 
    // user input.  When it comes time for the printf to print the largest number, how
    // do I distiguish the largest number from just any number?  I thought about telling