itune troubles...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tws, May 29, 2008.

1. tws macrumors newbie

sorry i'm a mac newbie.

i'm trying to burn and audio cd - from mp3 public domain book.

read the basic stuff to do on macinstruct as well as an online screed entitled
    how-to-properly-import-audiobooks-into-itunes

i'm still stuck... i converted all my mp3 files to AAC files and tried to move them to a new play list... the files all moved as advertised however when i delete the ones left in the itunes music folder all the files went into the trash!? including the ones in the new playlist! what's that all about?

does this mean that i have to have the files in both places? what rubbish.

anyway now i'm trying to figure out how to burn an audio file CD:confused: in hopes that it will play on my non MP3 playing radio/cd player in my truck.

any help would be appreciated.

a comprehensive link that details how to do this would be welcomed...

thanks,

tws

2. Julien macrumors G3

Julien

Converting a lossy format (MP3) to another lossy format (AAC) compounds the sound quality and artifact problem and is a BIG no, no. You should rip your CD's all over to ACC.

3. tws thread starter macrumors newbie

julien,

thanks... i'll remember that...

however i got all the book mp3 audio files online from librivox... they offer mp3 and ogg files... whatever those are?

i then dragged and dropped those files from vol one into itunes music folder and right clicked on each file and converted it to an AAC file as instructed by another tutorial i found online...

once converted i dumped all the files in to a playlist

so now i'm attempting to burn a playlist to disc

regretfully, the AAC files take up more room than the mp3 files did... my macbookpro reports that i will need more than one disc to burn this playlist...

i hope it works...

4. metalray@mac.co macrumors member

metalray@mac.co