iTunes 10.5b + iOS 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 21ce, Jun 9, 2011.

  1. 21ce macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #1
    I was wondering if anyone knows what this grayed out symbol is next to the ringtone I am trying to sync.

    - Purchased song from iTunes
    - Cut the song down to the specified length

    when dragging to "Ringtones" under the phone it is grayed out and has what looks like a refresh symbol on the left of it.

    in the "Ringtones" tab in my Library it shows up fine. I know it may be an iOS beta/ itunes beta issue, but I was wondering if anyone else has seen this with their ringtones syncing. The other custom ringtones show up fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. got23hops macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #2
    this is the exact same problem i am having! except its with my music!

    itunes 10.5 is buggggggyy
     
  3. 21ce thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #3
    Oh ok, man I haven't even tried to sync music yet. Thanks for the response! I wonder what it is...
     
  4. Fozzy.1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
  5. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #5
  6. iBraeson macrumors newbie

    iBraeson

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB Canada
    #6
    That "tutorial" doesn't help, whatsoever. It barely makes sense. "Go to Edit. Go to Preferences."?! What? Edit and Preferences are not even in the same dropdown.
     
  7. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    Greyed out symbol shows it's being copied to the device
     
  8. joakim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #8
    A less obvious solution

    Hi everyone

    I was looking into this problem myself and i found this thread. Seems it never got resolved though.


    Mind you everything is beta, but I managed to sync my ringtones by simply:

    1. De-checking the "Sync Ringtones" in itunes
    2. Sync device
    3. Checking the "Sync Ringtones" in itunes again
    4. Sync device et voila, itunes copied the ringtones as if they were just added.

    Hopefully this stupid workaround works for others as well

    Cheers,
    Joakim
     
  9. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #9
    that's what the dev notes said to do when putting beta 3 on as it was known it was gonna have the problem due to the custom tones being expanded to SMS & Email. The original post was before then, so different glitch, but possibly same outcome
     
  10. itsalexaye macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    thats why it is called buggy.
     

Share This Page