Apple TV iTunes 10.6 + ATV2 + JB = 1080p ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by patent10021, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. patent10021 macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #1
    iTunes 10.6 + ATV2 + JB = 1080p ?

    Is it iTunes that REALLY controls the 720p to 1080p tech or is it REALLY the ATV hardware? I don't see any significant change in the ATV3 chip to show that the ATV2 isn't capable of 1080p (with a JB).
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    It's the Apple TV's firmware that controls it. iTunes could also play a part in resampling it for 720p. With the proper modifications, the Apple TV 2 can output 1080p.
     
  3. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #3
    That's what I thought because I think both play a part with ATV2 not having any true limitation. Can't wait for ATV2 1080p JB.
     
  4. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #4
    All signs point to a hardware limitation, eg even XBMC can't output 1080p on a JB ATV2. New iTunes or official firmware shouldn't affect this at all.
     
  5. thewired1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    I have a jailbroken atv2 with XBMC... it decodes 1080p files with no issues off my server BUT it outputs 720p. Everything I've read supports a hardware limitation of 720p "output" regardless of itunes version.
     
  6. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #6
    Hmmmm I might have to buy this ATV3 then since all my files are 1080p.
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    XBMC can't output it because the underlying iOS isn't allowing it. There's a few plists you have to modify to allow it. Now with the Apple TV OS 5 it should be a lot less laggy and willing to work. This isn't much different much different then modifying one plist to allow 1080p content to be synced to a 3Gs or iPod Touch 4.
     
  8. patent10021 thread starter macrumors 68030

    patent10021

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    #8
    Do you know if they are working on a 1080p hack for ATV2?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    I'm not sure, but it shouldn't be too hard. All that's needed it to identify the correct plist and edit the values.
     
  10. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #10
    This sounds pretty speculative to me. The XBMC crew think there may well be a hardware limitation, e.g. insufficient video memory to drive a 1080p output.

    I would think the relevant comparison isn't with getting devices to sync or play files they're not supposed to, it's with getting them to output at resolutions they're not supposed to. For example, the A5-based iPad 2 and iPhone 4S can output at 1080p using the HDMI adapter, whereas the A4-based iPad, iPhone 4 and iPod Touch can only output 720p using the same adapter. A5 devices have been available for 12 months and no A4 devices have yet been enabled for 1080p output over HDMI, which I would have thought would have happened if it had just been a matter of editing plists. So I would be surprised if the launch of the A5 ATV3 would make it any easier for the A4 ATV2 to output 1080p over HDMI.

    However, I hope you're right.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    To get the HDMI adapter to output at 1080p on A4 devices, a kernel hack would be needed. Those are hard to make and generally result in instability. The Apple TV 3 could provide us with the correct settings and system support needed in order to force it to output 1080p. Just like how the iPhone 4 allowed 720p recording on the 3Gs even though it was speculated to be possible. It couldn't until iOS had been updated to support it.
     
  12. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    I would be very surprised if the atv 2 can render 1080p to display. the 256 mb of ram makes it dang hard. That said, if the new os uses way less ram than the old one there *might* be enough left for rendering 1080p to the display. Just as an atv 1 (256 mb of ram as well) can render 1080p to display if it is running linux (which uses much less ram than os x on previous atv os's) with a chd chip.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    The ram isn't the limitation. The 3Gs and iPod Touch 4 can playback 1080p without a problem and they both have 256Mb or ram.
     
  14. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #14
    Decode and render to display are two very different things.
     
  15. peterjcat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #15
    Right, when I say output I mean render and push over HDMI at 1080p, as opposed to decoding 1080p but scaling to 720p for output.
     

Share This Page