ITunes 12.4 Removes mp3 Converter Option

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mileslong, May 17, 2016.

  1. mileslong macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #1
    In my right click dropdown list I have always been able to convert any AAC files into 320kbps mp3's. With the update to 12.4 now that option has been removed for some ridiculous reason. Am I going to have to start using Fission or something to convert my music now?!

    ITunes and OSX for that matter just keeps getting worse and worse, IMO. Now back to watching the beachball spin in El Capitan
     
  2. NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #2
    Not in front of my Mac, but, it's still there. I stumbled onto it under either File or Edit pulldown menu (or one of the other pulldowns): that location has always been there, and I've always used that vs. never have done with it with right-click.
     
  3. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #3
    In either File or Edit or any other pulldown there is no option for it anymore. It's nuts, Apple wanting you to just use AAC so much that they make it difficult to convert to mp3?
     
  4. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #4
    File->Create New Version->Create MP3 Version is showing on iTunes 12.4 on my Mac (as long as you have import settings on Preferences set to create MP3s, otherwise that says Create AAC version)
     
  5. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #5
    Phil, just checked that it will work that way. It simply removed it as an option from my right click dropdown list for some reason. Certainly gave me plenty of options to create a playlist, go to itunes store and rate the song but i guess they would rather create more steps to convert a song.

    Thanks for your help brother!
     
  6. rtomyj macrumors 6502a

    rtomyj

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #6
    Haha your rants are funny now

    Guessing they are trying to make right click less cluttered.
     
  7. robbysibrahim macrumors member

    robbysibrahim

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Yep, no evidence 12.4 removed even the tiniest feature. Just a re-organization. And me likey.
     
  8. djeeyore25 macrumors regular

    djeeyore25

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Location:
    New York City
    #8
    That is annoying. When I'm converting certain songs on a CD to MP3 I used to just select the songs and right-click to make the MP3 version. I hope they bring the right-click option back because it's so much easier.
     
  9. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #9
    The contextual menu was such a mess before, now it's almost usable.

    If you want a faster way you can add a key equivalent to the menu item in System Preferences -> Keyboard -> Shortcuts.
     
  10. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #10
    Yeah it looks like they wanted to truncate that right-click menu because that thing was a hot mess
     
  11. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here =>[*]
    #11
    That is a puzzling set up. If' I've imported my files as MP3s, the option should be to create an AAC version. If I've imported them as AACs, the option should be to create MP3s. If I imported them as MP3s, why would I need/want to create an MP3? It's already in that format.

    I understand (and agree with) the need to clean up the context menu, but Apple whiffed big time on that one.
     
  12. Mascots macrumors 65816

    Mascots

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #12
    The encoder has always worked this way - most people want a library held in a single format and you can convert among bitrates (e.g., 320 -> 256). There's also a lot more than just AAC and MP3 available.
    If you go to Preferences > Import Settings and change the Encoder option, that will be the type listed in the menu.
     
  13. mileslong thread starter macrumors 6502

    mileslong

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    #13
    I personally would sacrifice the awesome option of going to itunes store and find similar songs and ratings for the one i use all the time, converting all my music to 320 bitrate. It's silly to hope for iTunes to play FLAC so I've given up on that.
     

Share This Page