iTunes 7.4.1 free ringtone workaround

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Devil's Refugee, Sep 12, 2007.

  1. Devil's Refugee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #1
    Found on engadget

    http://www.engadget.com/2007/09/08/itunes-7-4-1-ringtones-re-rename-workaround-discovered/

     
  2. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #2
    This isnt working... did i miss something???

    Took a song into GarageBand
    Cut to the part i wanted
    Share>Export Song to Disc>ACC format
    Changed from m4a to m4r
    Double Clicked and it opened in itunes
    Changed from m4r to m4a
    Plugged in iPhone... Nothing.
     
  3. digitalfx macrumors 6502a

    digitalfx

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #3
    yes, after you rename the file to .m4a, you need to double click it. It will say file not found (as it is looking for .m4r) so you have to point it back to the renamed file (.m4a)
     
  4. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    no dice... made m4r... double clicked, played in itunes... changed to m4a double clicked in itunes and played. I think they fixed the work around because its automatically following my file name.
     
  5. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #5
  6. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #6
    Thats awesome... yeah, i am glad I am 5 days behind... good for me!
     
  7. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
  8. digitalfx macrumors 6502a

    digitalfx

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #8
    you didnt read my post...read it again and follow exactly what I said. It works just fine.
     
  9. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #9
    This doesnt work on a Windows PC. It works on a Mac.
     
  10. digitalfx macrumors 6502a

    digitalfx

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #10
    works fine on my PC
     
  11. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #11
  12. digitalfx macrumors 6502a

    digitalfx

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #12
    the important thing that is not mentioned above is that you MUST tell itunes where the file is after you rename it the second time. If you dont it will not work. It is very simple, follow these steps EXACTLY:

    1. bring a song into itunes library
    2. convert to aac
    3. select the aac version in window explorer
    4. rename it to .m4r
    5. drag it into the "ringtones" library
    6. now rename the file AGAIN to .m4a
    7. go back into itunes and double click the song in the "rintones" library. It will tell you song cant be found, search for the song you just relabled in step 6 as .m4a and double click it
    8. sync
    9. ringtone now imported into iphone

    STEP 7 IS IMPORTANT- DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP

    The whole process takes 30 seconds, and works great. I have imported a dozen ringtones
     

Share This Page