ITunes 8.0 using Tubro Sim Iphone 3G error message

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by JSmoove05, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. JSmoove05 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #1
    Hello all

    Im using Iphone 3g with turbo sim card using my Tmobile Sim card. Whenever I try to sink ITunes with 8.0 it gives me the follow error message

    "The Sim card inserted in this phone does not appear to be supported"


    Is there anyway to fix this or workaround thanks!
     
  2. Bargsbeer macrumors member

    Bargsbeer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Location:
    Central FL
    #2
    Thats part of the problem with sim adapters. I used several different kinds with my 3G and all of them did the same thing.
     
  3. NikSamtani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #3
    Same Problem

    Hey, i think my problem is the same as yours. I had purchased my Iphone in the US and activated it there with an AT&T Sim card. Then i brought it back home (India) and i used a turbo-sim with my local sim card. The phone works just fine, i.e. calling, sms, etc.

    But when i sync it with my i-tunes i get the same error message, sim card not recognised and i cant transfer music, pic's nothing.

    Are you facing the same ?

    Any luck finding the solution ?
     
  4. bhsu21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #4
    I had the same problem. After some searching someone said to put the Iphone in airplane mode. Then connect it. You won't see that error and you'll be about to sync your library. Try it and let me know if that works for you guys.
     
  5. JSmoove05 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #5
    I dont think that worked for me it just gave me invalid sim on my phone and I had to reinsert that sim card. I just bought a new gevy-3 sim card alot of people say this one is really good ill keep you guys posted when I get it. Its really frustrating not being able to sinc the iphone with the computer.
     
  6. NikSamtani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #6
    I would'nt try putting it on flight mode. When you purchase any type of turbosim they always tell you never put it on flight mode. You will have to re insert the SIM card which i honestly thought was quite a pain !

    Would jailbreaking help ? I was planning to try that next cause i cant think of anything else. Any thoughts ? Cause im not gonna try it unless i get some reviews from other people
     
  7. NikSamtani macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #7

    HEY GUYS I SORTED IT OUT !! :D:D

    Its actually very simple, all you have to do is use the pin that was given with the phone to eject the SIM and just press it once lightly, so as to pop the sim back out (NOT completely, cause its a pain putting it back in)

    You will get the message "No SIM card installed" Keep the phone as it is and now connect to itunes, all i had to do was register my phone (for which i typed any random information) and thats it ! You can update and sync !

    Right now syncing all my contacts and songs ! :D

    Hope this helps, let me know if this works for you guys also !
     

Share This Page