iTunes 8.1 + Jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fabian9, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. fabian9 macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I just tried to update my iphone from 2.2 to 2.2.1 and I'm kinda getting the feeling that iTunes 8.1 checks for custom firmwares and then throws an unknown error (1600 i think it was). I've tried it several times now, rebuilding the custom firmware etc but it's not having it... :S

    Fabian
     
  2. Four20 macrumors 6502a

    Four20

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #2
    i dunno. . .i hear it doesn't affect any of the jailbreak methods on any of the devices
     
  3. fabian9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    Maybe it's just me then. But I'm downgrading to 8.0.2 as we speak and I'm pretty sure it'll work on this one... will report back later/tomorrow!
     
  4. fabian9 thread starter macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    alright, just gave it a shot in 8.0.2 and can't get it to work there either.

    so it probably is just me. :)

    sorry about the confusion!
     
  5. digitalrio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #5
    I had a problem after I upgraded iTunes to 8.1. I tried to jailbreak several iphones via the Pwnage Tool and after the process is completed the AT&T signal disappears. All I get is five dots. Anybody having the same issue?
     
  6. acid macrumors newbie

    acid

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #6
    hey if you need to find the latest firmware.... just go here!
    then as you sync just replace it using that! :)

    i <3 :apple:
     
  7. Ekelon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    #7
    u might have to restore ur iphone to factory conditions, update the firmware, and then re-jailbreak it. only use that as last resort lol and don't forget to back up your phone first!
     
  8. digitalrio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #8
    Thanks for your replies guys. I found the solution by re-installing the yellowsn0w module in Cydia and re-booting. That got all of them working. Thanks again!!
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    You sure, I tried several times to restore to earlier version (after wiping phone) and kept getting error.

    Only version which completes was current version (highest version ever upgraded to) --hope that makes sense.

    NE1 else get their iPhone to go back to older version ?? :confused:
     

Share This Page