iTunes 8 Ringtone Hack

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by metalkills, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. metalkills macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #1
    Can anyone confirm if the ringtone hack that worked on itunes 7 (convert to acc, change file extension etc... ) still works with version 8? I would like to know before I update. Thanks!
     
  2. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #2
    Just tried it out and it still works great, so no worries!
     
  3. metalkills thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
  4. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #4
    I don't see why they would change it anyway. It seems a pretty valid hack to be honest.
     
  5. Dad3sons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Rural NoCal, but not Bay Area
    #5
    Ringtone hack still works?

    Hi Guys -

    The hack quit working in iTunes v 7.7.1 for me on both my PC and my MacBook. I could do everything to point of dragging the renamed ".m4r" file and dropping it on the ringtones folder in the left bar in the iTunes application window. The file won't "drop" or appear in the ringtones window.

    I"d love to figure this out, because we just got my wife her iPhone 3G this past weekend and she uses ringtones from my 3 sons' colleges fight songs to tell who's calling her, and you can't buy college fight songs in the iTunes store.

    Any advice?

    Thanks!

    Joe C.
     
  6. Dad3sons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    Rural NoCal, but not Bay Area
    #6
    Ringtone "hack" still works....

    In case anyone in is interested, I did get the ringtone hack to work again. What's slightly different is that after creating the ".m4r" file outside of iTunes, I have to delete both the ".mp3" and ".m4a" snippet files out of iTunes first, then drag the ".m4r" ringtone file and drop it on the ringtone folder in iTunes.

    I did not recall having to delete the ".mp3" file before, as those files were still in my iTunes music list from previous versions of iTunes before 7.7.1.

    Mystery solved....:)

    JC
     
  7. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #7
    Haha, glad to hear it worked! And cheers for leaving how you did it for those who can't get it to work :)
     
  8. jdmstar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #8
    Yup still works and im on 3g iphone.

    What you couldve done if it didnt work was instead of dropping it tryp DOUBLE CLICKING it, andi t should automatically drop it in the Ringtones folder.

    I didnt delete the original mp3 form itunes nor did i deleted the AAC files.
     
  9. elkay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    CT
    #9
    You could always just put the .m4r file where you want it to reside on your drive (I created a "My Ringtones" directory in my Windows user folder), then simply double click it and it will pop open iTunes and automatically add it to the library. Then you can just sync it to your phone however you normally do.
     
  10. KevCoStudios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #10
    ringtone never shows up in RingTone library in iTunes 8

    i've followed every bit of advice that i could scour several forums for, but i seem to get no luck. i've used many different programs to turn mp3's into aac's and then into m4a by changing the file extension, and the m4a's have the itunes' application logo next to it once i change the file extension (confirming to me that windows now recognizes it as being associated with iTunes), and even when i double click the m4a, itunes' ringtones area pops open, but the ring tone never actually appears inside of itunes, and thus never syncs with my iphone. i never thought something so simple would be so difficult for me :( .

    I just bought my iPhone 4 days ago, and I had updated to the latest version of iTunes and the latest firmware update for my iPhone (which was on Sept 12). is anyone else having similar issues? or have any idea why this might be happening?

    thank you :)

    edit:: also I tried using a program recommended in another forum 'iRinger' which seems to cut out the middle step of renaming the file extension from aac to m4r. but still no luck.
     
  11. scionreaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #11
    I cut my mp3 to 30 secs, converted it to AAC via iTunes, renamed the .m4a to an .m4r, and added it to my Ringtones list on iTunes 8. It even shows up under the sync ringtones tab when I sync my iPhone 3G. However, despite seeing it sync "Transferring Blah blah blah 1 of 1", when I go to my phone's settings and try to set its ringtone, the song is not there.

    Any help, please?
     
  12. alanisrox69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #12
    Make sure it is UNDER 30 seconds. If it is 30.01 seconds it will not sync.

    I'm pretty sure if you Jailbroke your phone and just dropped the file (any length) into the directory it would work fine though.

    -Derek-
     
  13. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #13
    Since this is a 'feature' of Garageband now, I dont think they are going to disable it anytime soon.
     
  14. kidwithshirt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #14
    question:

    how do i allow file longer than 30 seconds to work? I have jb 2.1

    googled a bit no luck
     
  15. KevCoStudios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #15
    Follow up with Ringtone problem

    Just decided to start from scratch this morning, and it seems all ring tones that were made by changing the file extension from aac to m4r did not work, but all ring tones made with iRinger worked FLAWLESSly. so i highly recommend this program to anyone having the same issues i was having.

    also since there's no choice on iPhone to "vibrate then ring" someone suggested adding 4 or 5 seconds of silence in the file before the song starts, which gives you a chance to snag your phone from your pocket before it starts playing. it was a good tip, so i figured i'd post it here.
     
  16. scionreaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #16
    I have 2.1 firmware and Windows, so I can't jailbreak it (yet). Would that cause any problems?
     
  17. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #17
    Steps for me:
    1. Using options, select it so only 30 seconds of a song plays.
    2. Right click song and hit convert to AAC.
    3. Remove the options on the original.
    4. Right click converted file and select "Show in Finder" or whatnot.
    5. With a Finder window open, right click on the converted file and hit delete. Click yes to remove it from Library, but No to moving it to the Trash Can.
    6. Click on the converted file in Finder and rename the extension from m4a to m4r.
    7. Double click on the file to open it with iTunes. This will move (not copy) the converted file to the Ringtones folder and bring it up under the Ringtones list in iTunes.
     
  18. scionreaver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #18
    I did exactly that. It even shows up in the Ringtones list and says it transfers it to my iphone. But when I go to settings --> Sounds --> Ringtone, it's simply not there.
     
  19. alanisrox69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #19
  20. elkay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    CT
    #20
    Btw, I use Sound Forge 9 to make my ringtone files, but that might be slight overkill. :p
     
  21. odysseysteve macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #21
    Total noob question - had my iphone for 3 days now

    I tried following the many tutorials on youtube to make ringtones. I have a new 3G and have itunes 8. Problem is there is no "Ringtones" folder to drop the file into in my itunes. In all the tutorials I see the folder in the upper left portion of the screen. I do not have this folder present.

    Any suggestions?

    Thank you inadvance!

    -Steve
     
  22. d wade macrumors 65816

    d wade

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
  23. lv99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #23
    try to lower the bit rate 128 or higher may not work. size of the ringtones greater than 500k may cause this problem
     
  24. AFMagnum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #24
    Flawless. Thanks Knolly!
     
  25. elkay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    CT
    #25
    When the ringtone doesn't show up it's usually a file size or song length problem. All of my ringtones are 28-32s long (low 30s seems to be about the threshold) and are between 450-575K. They're all 128kbps (you really don't need higher for a ringtone because the internal speaker isn't of enough quality to notice more).
     

Share This Page