iTunes and Firewall

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by webpoet73, Jan 10, 2015.

  1. webpoet73 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #1
    I am not sure how to fix this. iTunes is already in the firewall settings as "Allow Incoming Connections". It has always been. Recently, it always asks me if I want the iTunes app to allow incoming connections. Why? It's already allowed.

    [​IMG]
    Here you can see that the firewall is already set to allow incoming connections, yet, iTunes is asking me anyway.

    I have tried to remove iTunes from the list and manually re-add it. That didn't work. Any other suggestions?
     
  2. 65535 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #2
    Quit iTunes, remove iTunes from the firewall settings. Download the iTunes installer package from Apple. Install iTunes over your existing installation. Add iTunes to the firewall exception list manually. Upon launch iTunes will take a few seconds to rebuild your library but it should launch without requesting permission, that's how I fixed my issue.
     
  3. webpoet73 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #3
    Unfortunately, this did not work for me. :( Upon launching iTunes, it spared no time in rebuilding the library and immediately asked me for firewall permissions. This has gone on for a long time... and I am about to break. Doesn't do that to me on my Macbook, just my iMac.
     
  4. webpoet73 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    #4
    Strangely enough, removing iTunes from the list and launching it, it asked for permissions, so I accepted and entered administrator credentials... but didn't add itself to the list of applications.

    Shouldn't iTunes fall under the "Automatically allow signed software to accept incoming connections"? In which case, it wouldn't be listed. Safari isn't listed... mail isn't listed, etc.

    How important is it to use the firewall?
     
  5. brentg33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #5
    webpoet73 are you using the latest beta of 10.10.2 ?
    just started happening to me after i downloaded and installed that.
     
  6. DiabBarca macrumors regular

    DiabBarca

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Location:
    Omdurman - Sudan
    #6
    It is happening to me too, only recently, may be after I installed OS 10.10.2 beta.....
     
  7. brentg33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #7
    i can tell you that i am running 10.10.2 and uninstalling iTunes and re-downloading from Apple...after re-installing...doesn't seem to be an issue for me
     

Share This Page