iTunes and storage space

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by steve1960, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. steve1960 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    I have a 500GB SSD in my 2011 MBP and am running out of space mainly due to iTunes backing up and holding movies, music and device backups.

    Is there any way to force iTunes to save data on a remote drive?
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    You can create or move your iTunes library on any drive you have mounted.
     
  3. steve1960 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Excellent thank you I will drill deeper into how to achieve that.

    I have an 2 x 4TB Thunderbolt RAID array mounted which I would like to use.
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Take a look at this video even though he uses a Snology it will work with any external.

     
  5. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #5
    Check out this link from Apple
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Adding a 128GB Transend JetDrive Lite might be an option. That's where I keep a copy of my iTunes music.
     
  7. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #7
    Also I would take a look at the blog post Configuring OS X Mountain Lion Time Machine to Work With CIFS (SMB) Share(don't worry because this still works in Mavericks) if you would like to use Time Machine on that array (using your own paths of course).
     
  8. steve1960 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    I did it thanks to all for the advice. I now have 450GB of space on the SSD instead of 190GB :)

    I do also use the Thunderbolt RAID array for time Machine backups. It is set up as RAID 1 but still 4TB of space will be enough for me for quite a while.
     

Share This Page