iTunes asked "Do you want applications "iTunes.app" to accept incoming network FIXED

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by furious, May 15, 2010.

  1. furious macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    conntections? Every time it starts. I press allow. It still does it. I have added iTunes to the firewall preferences. And it still asked. What do I do.

    Fix for this issues

    Nice and simple.
    __________________
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    I have no com.apple.alf.plist file. Now what?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Where did you look for it? I find two:
    Picture 132.jpg
    Picture 133.jpg
     
  5. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    It’s in /Library/Preferences
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Spotlight doesn't search in the Library folder. Use Finder. See the paths in my earlier post.
     
  8. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    Look closely at the images I posted, especially the red circled areas. See anything different about your search?
    Screen shot 2010-05-16 at 3.59.36 PM.png

    By default, Finder won't search for System Files. You have to tell it to do so.
     
  10. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Did you quit iTunes, trash the .plist files, then start iTunes? Did you log out and log back in?
     
  12. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  13. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    Did you quit iTunes already? Restart your computer? Empty the Trash?


    You have to be more specific than one word responses.
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    When you did the search the right way, did you find one or two .plist files? If you found two, did you trash them both, or just one?
     
  15. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    I have followed all instructions. Twice. It still asks.
     
  16. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    When you go to System Preferences>Security>Firewall>Advanced...what do you see in the box and what is checked?
     
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #17
    Your cryptic responses are making it difficult to help you. You're not responding to direct questions, and without detailed information to work with, I guess I'll leave you to figure it out for yourself. Good luck.
     
  18. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  19. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #19
    You can't follow the instructions twice.

    Did you find the plist?


    Post a screenshot of the folder.
     
  20. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #20
    Did you just add iTunes onto the list? If not, you did not delete the .plist file as instructed.
     
  21. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    You can follow instructions twice. You complete the instructions then you finish them then you try again then you are left in the same situation so you follow the instructions again.
     
  22. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #22
    It sounds like you don't want help. Unless you list the exact steps you followed, there's no way for us to know what you did or didn't do. Just saying you followed the instructions isn't enough. After all, you also said "I have no com.apple.alf.plist file."
     
  23. furious thread starter macrumors 65816

    furious

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
  24. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #24
    That's what I thought.
     
  25. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #25
    Haha. There was probably no issue.
     

Share This Page