iTunes backup with multiple iOS ver

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SoN1NjA, Mar 5, 2017.

  1. SoN1NjA macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #1
    if I have a 10.3 backup on my Windows 10 PC, and I do a backup from 10.2 on the same iPhone

    Will the old one be overwrite

    The 10.3 one is 30GB
    The 10.2 one is 4GB

    Will it just delete the 10.3 entirely (the 30GB) and just use the new one?

    Thanks
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    No. Every backup you make in iTunes (or iCloud) is a separate file with a unique number assigned to the filename. iTunes does not overwrite backups.
     
  3. SoN1NjA thread starter macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #3
    That's what some dumb Apple Support person told me

    They can **** off, be wasting my mother****ing time

    Have spent many hours messing around with storage Jenga to try and do backup on this and that and not delete file x and yz

    Smh...
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    In Mac OS X iTunes there is a feature called "archive" to prevent certain backup being overwritten, which is not available in Windows version iTunes. You need to manually archive old backups under windows. This is a limitation from Apple.
     
  5. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #5
    This is not true. Backups of the same device will be overwritten. Backups use the UDID number of the device. The only way to prevent overwriting a backup is to archive the old one. You only ever have access to one backup at a time with the same device. All previous backups are unaccessible.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2017 ---
    Any time you create a new backup, the old one is overwritten. Apple is correct. Unless you archive the old one first.
     
  6. SoN1NjA thread starter macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #6
    Oh, you know maybe I can move the backups from the backup folder to elsewhere, and have multiple i7 backups
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    You can, or you can just archive it in iTunes and then it will go untouched. If you archive a backup, it will then allow iTunes to create an entirely new and separate backup.
     
  8. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    Archive option is not available under windows unless an updated version adds it.
     
  9. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #9
    Is it really not? Thats shocking.
     
  10. SoN1NjA thread starter macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #10
    I don't have Mac

    And it's ridiculous
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    Then how come any time I want to restore from iTunes or iCloud I get presented with a list of backups to restore from?

    Unless this is new to iOS 10?

    Because I'm on iOS 9.
     
  12. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #12
    Those are from different devices that you have had in the past. If you check your iTunes preferences, and go to devices. You will see all the different devices. If you go to iCloud Preferences -> Backup. You will see all your past devices and you will notice that one of them says "This Device". That is the one that gets overwritten every single night.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 5, 2017 ---
    I'm sorry, that is extremely stupid that Apple does that. Must be a way backups are saved to Windows, so the only thing you can do is make a separate folder in Documents and transfer the backup files there.
     
  13. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    I keep my backups on my Mac Pro at work (only Intel Mac I have access to that can sync with my iPhone) so I'll check that tomorrow.
     
  14. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #14
    I would post a screenshot of mine, but I clear our my backups pretty frequently. So I only have my two current devices. Let me check my GF's computer to see if she has older backups.


    Edit: Nope, hers is only her most recent device as well. The two times that you can get 2 different backups for the same device is if you restore or archive. If you restore, it will save the previous backup incase you need to restore to it again the future and will create a new one going forward. And same with archiving, it prevents the archived one from being overwritten.

    That is why Apple tells you to archive a backup before upgrading to beta because it will overwrite that previous backup as soon as you backup again.

    Edit 2: I will check a few other family member's computers throughout the day as I see them to see if I can get it for you.
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    I don't clean them out at all. I know the list shows different backups from different devices but I also know I've seen more than one for the same device.

    The MP at work is running Yosemite and I haven't updated iTunes lately either. And it's also on 24/7 so if Apple reaches out and wipes out backups nightly I haven't seen it.
     
  16. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #16
    The only backups that are wiped out nightly are iCloud. Because you can archive them. They are overwritten nightly. If you have multiple backups from old devices in iTunes, those will remain intact. But when you are using a current device, clicking backup will overwrite, not create a new additional backup. Otherwise backups would eat up all your hard drive space, because they can be massive.
     
  17. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    OK. I can see that with iCloud. Still, I'll check the MP tomorrow.
     
  18. SoN1NjA thread starter macrumors 65816

    SoN1NjA

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    designing another cheap logo
    #18
    Yeah, \AppData\Roaming\iTunes\MobileSync\Backups

    has them all, just kinda a jank way to do something for a feature that should be there
     
  19. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    You are correct.

    I checked this on the MacPro at work today and my finding supports your statement. I made one bad assumption which was compounded by my device naming conventions and my infrequency of iTunes backups.

    I tend to consistently name my device a certain way and every time there is a replacement or a new device the name carries over. Hence, I have several backups by the same name, but hovering over the backup name in iTunes preferences shows a difference in IMEI and serial number even though the device name (hence the backup name) is the same.

    To further test this I made two backups, the second, four minutes after the first had completed and there was only one backup available to my device - which means it's overwriting.

    So, you're right, I'm wrong and I've learned something. Thanks!
     
  20. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #20
    Yes. After a recent check of my Windows PC, iTunes under windows does not have archive option at all even the version is the latest.
     
  21. PhilParsons, Apr 16, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017

    PhilParsons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    #21
    Once upon a time ... that was true for iTunes PC version. Today I upgraded my son's IOS then did a backup to my PC, then a few more changes and another backup. Then I went to go back to the previous backup and discovered sometime in the last few months either Windows or iTunes had changed the backup behaviour to overwrite :(

    I know from experience that in the past I have been able to select a point-in-time to restore in exactly the circumstances I describe ... make a backup ... experiment with changes ... make a second "checkpoint" backup ... then decide to continue or restore to the original backup ... Oh well ... such is the Apple God :(
     
  22. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #22
    Yes, unfortunately I was wrong in my statement. That was pointed out to me and I verified it and issued a retraction.

    I wish it were not the case that backups now overwrite, but they do.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/itunes-backup-with-multiple-ios-ver.2035607/#post-24371493
     

Share This Page