iTunes: Convert higher bitrate to...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mdehoogh, Mar 3, 2013.

1. mdehoogh macrumors member

Quick question, if I check the box to convert songs on an iPod to 128kbps AAC, will it create a duplicate somewhere within my library? Or will it just convert and sync the smaller version to the iPod while leaving the original (mostly 320kbps MP3) alone?

For example, if I wish to convert my higher quality originals to a lower quality for my shuffle and iPhone, will it create a 128kbps version within my library somewhere, then copy that version to both devices? Or rather, will it convert to 128 when I sync my shuffle, then repeat the conversion when I sync my phone?

I've never used this option before and after some brief searching, I see reports of the initial sync (when it's converting) that can take a long time, just wondering if it will be a long sync for all devices or just the first time it converts.

I hope that makes sense...

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

It won't create duplicates in your library, but will only sync a lower bitrate version to your iPod.

3. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

Mackilroy

To the best of my knowledge, the lower bit-rate files aren't stored on the computer–so unfortunately, you'd have to reconvert for every device.

4. dakwar macrumors 6502

I'm curious to know too. Would appreciate an update from you here when you have it figured out / tried it out. Thanks mate.

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

The question was already answered. I use that option when syncing to my iPhone.

6. mdehoogh thread starter macrumors member

Well my main question was whether it would have to re-convert each time I sync something to a device.