iTunes could not sync information to the iPhone because another sync client is alread

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by AppleiPhonedude, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. AppleiPhonedude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #1
    No idea what is going on, looking at other boards I'm not the only one having this problem. Trying to do a normal sync and suddenly get a dialog window pop up that says, "iTunes could not sync information to the iPhone " " because another sync client is already running". then the sync stops without transferring data, I need my data, I need my calendar, and contacts. My iPhone and iTunes have been working flawlessly since I got the iPhone.

    Any ideas?:confused:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2018644
     
  2. Marcall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #2
    I'm having the same problem on my itouch. i don't use the contacts or anything and it still synchs music, apps but having the message pop up every time is annoying.
     
  3. Marcall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #3
    ok I think I just fixed the problem *fingers crossed* :)

    anyway like in the link you provided I believe it's a missing /tmp folder. i vaguely remember deleting a file named tmp which just out of the blue appeared on my desktop one day shortly before my synch problem.

    here's what worked for me (so far anyway) ....

    open "Applications" in finder and go to "utilities" from there go to "disc utility" and highlight "Macintosh HD" and then "repair permissions". Then verify and hook up your iphone and it should synch correctly.


    here's the link http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1590401 I was googling "how to make a tmp folder for Mac OSX10" and this was the first thread :)


    Hope that helps . Let me know if it does.
     
  4. AppleiPhonedude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #4
    Mozy off-site backup

    Ok, I use Mozy as an off-site data backup. It seems that Mozy when doing its backup creates a tmp folder in the root directory, and/or uses the one already there, then its software says to delete the tmp folder it created, or in this case, any tmp folder available, after backup completed. Mozy has no info on their web site. What I've done is to run the Disc utility, repair permissions, then the Mac OS tmp folder appears. I created a new folder in the same directory level called "Mozy Temp". Then open the System Preferences utility, and select the Mozy prefs. In the Mozy General settings, there is an selection for "Custom location", I then went to "Choose" and browsed for that "Mozy Temp" folder I just created. As of this morning Mozy did its backup, and I still have the Mac OS tmp folder, and I'm able to Sync my iPhone without error. I feel a great harmony in the Universe. If this is the issue, and this fix works for you, send an email to Mozy support and ask "what's up with this?"

    Mozy Support
    Mac
    macsupport@mozy.com

    Mozy General Information
    info@mozy.com

    Support
    homesupport@mozy.com

    Phone: (801) 756-2331

    http://support.mozy.com/docs/en-user-home-mac/faq/concepts/contact_support.html
     
  5. Marcall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #5

    Funny you mention Mozy as I have that too. The disc utility thing worked for a few synchs and then yesterday I had to do it again and so far it's good. I will give your method a try though because otherwise it looks like I'll just have to repermission every week or so.

    I was thinking it was last fm which caused the problem but Mozy makes sense. I am going to email them.
     
  6. pupuputz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    #6
    "I feel a great harmony in the Universe."


    Thanks AppleiPhonedude. This is exactly the problem I had as well. I have Mozy and the /tmp file was missing. I've done as you suggested and all is well. I created the MozyTemp file but have not been through a Mozy back up yet.

    This problem with Mozy created 3 problems on my Mac (10.4) which are as of now, resolved. 1) Would get "error while printing" message and could not print anything 2) Login problems with SafeEyes 3) Unable to sync iPod touch with the following message "itunes could not sync.....another sync client is already running"

    I will be emailing Mozy.

    I too feel great harmony, thank you.
     
  7. Marcall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #7
    I haven't had time until now to try and do this. Could you please tell me where and how to get to the directory in which to create the mozy temp folder. Thanks in advance.
     
  8. AppleiPhonedude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #8
    Mozy Update, may be a fix

    I just received an email from Mozy tech support stating they have released a software update that may fix the issues. you will need to uninstall and download and reinstall the Mozy application.
     
  9. kirkie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    I have just started with this problem. Anyone know how to fix it on a machine running windows 7
     
  10. pkmindi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #10
    Thank you!!

    OMG Thank you for suggesting the disk utility repair permissions! I am a new mac user and had no idea why it wasn't syncing anymore to my new iPhone 4S!! You are A GENIUS!:)
     

Share This Page