iTunes External Music harddrive?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by darthdarragh, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. darthdarragh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #1
    Hey yall.

    was wondering if you could get an external Harddrive and use the music on it as your library on iTunes.As My macbook has a pathetic size of a hard drive

    Thanks in advance

    Dara
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Yes. You can change the location where iTunes stores its music in iTunes Preferences > Advanced, under the General tab.

    This article tells you how to move your library to an external HD. link
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    Of course! I recommend a Firewire connection, for maximum speed.
     
  4. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    +1 to all of the above. This is how I live with my puny 80GB internal.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    If I understand correctly, you can also deselect "Copy files to iTunes Music folder when adding to library" under iTunes > Preferences > Advanced > General, leaving your music on the external drive and having iTunes just use it but not make a copy. That will save a lot of space!
     
  6. glasserp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #6
    usb 2.0 works just as well, too. NEVER had a problem and I have about a 100gb library.
     
  7. Mac In School macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #7
    I do this. I have a USB hard drive plugged into my Airport Extreme. That way, all the computers in the house have access to the same music, even when my computer is off.
     
  8. glasserp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #8
    i would love to do that but i have an older express and a core duo, i want to upgrade my mac just so i can use N speeds, but there's really nothing wrong with my current mac.
     

Share This Page