iTunes / iCloud etc... for my wife and I?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by cybertek, Oct 11, 2011.

1. cybertek macrumors regular

cybertek

I am new to Apple/iPhone and iTunes. My wife and I will be getting iPhones on Friday.

1. If we want to share iTunes music do we need to make all purchases under one account?
    2. Can you share purchased apps? if so should this be under the same shared account as iTunes?
    3. I assume we would not want to share or sync anything in iCloud.
    4. Any other things I need to know?

Thanks!

2. canyonblue737 macrumors 6502a

1. Yes, under one ITUNES STORE account you share. This can be different than personal iCloud accounts that would differ between you and your wife.
    Thanks!

2. Yes, use the same ITUNES STORE and the apps will be free to share.

3. In that case again be sure to use separate iCloud accounts.

4. Nope, you have a fairly straight ward use case. It gets a bit more complicated for former MobileMe users who shared more stuff with their spouse as with iCloud it has certain benefits, but limitations.

3. BNZ1 macrumors regular

When I updated my iPad and my partners iPhone to iOS5 they both defaulted to my iCloud account (the apple ID we use for the appstore).

After the setup I was able to delete the iCloud account on her iPhone and add a new iCloud account with her Apple ID. I then re-added my iCloud account for Find My iPhone feature as use the same account on all our devices for this.

I then had to change the apple id in Facetime, Messages, Game Center etc.

4. Ponderous macrumors regular

So this will allow you to both share the same apps and music, etc but allow you to each have your own contacts, email, calendar and the like?

Is it possible to share calendars between iCloud accounts?

5. canyonblue737 macrumors 6502a

yes, but not contacts.

6. shurcooL macrumors 6502a

Are you sure about this?