iTunes in console-only OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jpcanaverde, May 2, 2014.

  1. jpcanaverde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Hi. I'm running Snow Leopard on a machine with very little resources. As such, it crashes frequently. So I decided to turn off the GUI using this guide: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20030603183119799

    I log into my account, and it works fine and fast. Things I configured in the GUI such as AFP file sharing work as they should. However, I don't know how to get iTunes to work. I just need it to share my iTunes Library over Home Sharing. Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    iTunes requires a GUI. It does not have a console mode.
     
  3. jpcanaverde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Is there any way to just run it as a server? Just running the process would be enough, since everything is already configured. It just wouldn't launch the GUI.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  5. jpcanaverde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Any third party offerings? Like a DAAP server?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    There are some third party ones, but I do not know if they can serve to other iTunes 8+ computers or other iOS based devices.
     
  7. jpcanaverde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Well, I guess it's a matter of trying. I'll be using it mainly to stream TV shows and movies to my Apple TV. Any third party app suggestions then?
     
  8. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #8
    How limited can it be? I ran my media server for years on a 2006 Mac mini using Snow Leopard with 2 GB of RAM. It was not fast, but it never crashed.

    A.
     
  9. jpcanaverde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #9
    It's a netbook (hackintosh) with 1GB of RAM running SL from a USB flash drive since the integrated SSD doesn't work (can't be replaced).
     
  10. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    I don't know of any, but I do know that the Apple TV will only stream from an iTunes server because of its authentication requirements.
     
  12. NexusHubs macrumors newbie

    NexusHubs

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #12
    Any other services on the 1GB Hackintosh? Linux should run much smoother if you just need AFP and DAAP servers.

    Personally I run forked-daapd on a 512MB, very old Debian server for years.
     
  13. jpcanaverde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #13
    Yeah, I tried using FreeNAS at first, but it doesn't support HFS. I also searched a bit and it doesn't seem like Linux supports it either. I can't reformat it because it's a 2TB disk and I have no way of backing it up.

    It's really just AFP (read/write) and iTunes, but the only way I could get it to work was to install OS X. I could deal with it being painfully slow, but it crashes constantly and I have to reboot it manually which takes a long time.
     
  14. NexusHubs macrumors newbie

    NexusHubs

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    #14
    If you need Time Machine backup, you might have to rely on Darwin, which provide stable HFS+ support and hard-linking that Time Machine requires. In Apple.com forums I've heard several horror stories of people backing to 3rd party drives.
     
  15. jpcanaverde thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #15
    I have no way of backing it up as in I have no other disk with 2TB or more.

    Also, I tried to install Darwin prior to installing OS X, but it seems to be impossible on this PC.
     

Share This Page