itunes in multiple rooms problem - suggestions?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mc77, May 5, 2009.

  1. mc77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #1
    Hello All,

    I'm hoping that some of you may be able to help me with this problem or suggest some sort of work around. The situation is this: we've just moved and of course I'm trying to figure out how to get music to the different areas of the house from my mac. Here is what I currently have setup: 1) Office: My Mac which holds my itunes library and airport express. 2) TV room: apple TV connected to Onkyo 606 receiver and television.

    What I would like to do is somehow get itunes music up to the living room which is on the second floor. Initially, I thought that I would just run speaker wire from the onkyo receiver to the second floor to the extra pair of speakers I would like to use and control it with iremote on the iphone. However, when I told this plan to my wife she basically said no way as she doesn't want any wires or plastic coverings on the walls. I should also mention that I'm not interested in running the wires inside the walls. I also have an older airport express in case anyone can figure out a way that this could be used in a solution.

    So any suggestions? I definitely need to find a way of sorting this out so any help would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!
     
  2. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #2
    the older express should still allow you to use airtunes to connect another stereo/speakers to it, albeit over a g network.
     
  3. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #3
    Yeah, that's what I'm doing. I have my media server (Mac mini) playing music through iTunes in one room w/powered speakers and then use AirTunes on the :apple:TV to play in my family room (hooked to a receiver) to play music there and in the basement I have another receiver hooked to an old AirPort Express and play music there as well.

    On top of that the :apple:TV is hooked to my big screen and shows the music playing which I control through a 20th Anniversary Mac connecting to a customized web page (for screen size) off of Signal (running on the mini). (this allows me to control the music, ratings, playlists, etc.). In the basement I have an old iMac also connecting to Signal as well. These both use iCab which has a kiosk mode so the display is pretty sweet. Signal also runs on my iPhone but I've been using the Remote app more lately since it's native.

    AirPort Expresses are killer for what you want.
     
  4. mc77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for the replies - I'll look into using the express then. Will it automatically work with my airport extreme signal or is some configuration required?
     
  5. statik13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #6
    Should be no problems. I have three airport expresses hooked up throughout my house using a airport extreme as my base.
     
  6. mc77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #7
    Got it set up - works great! Thanks for all your help:)
     
  7. Wakakanada macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #8
    Big fan of Airport Express

    I concur with the albeit already established conclusion of this thread that the Airport Express with AirTunes is a wonderful little contraption. I have a 15 year old dinosaur of a stereo, but hooked up an AirTunes which my TimeCapsule network recognized and configured without any glitches. And my iphone app Remote worked seamlessly the first try. For someone not at all "network" oriented, the fact this all worked by hitting default buttons was welcome...and now my obsolete stereo is wifi iphone cutting edge :p
     

Share This Page