iTunes keeps wanting to setup my iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by uncleiven, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. uncleiven macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #1
    All of a sudden my iPhone stopped showing up in iTunes for wireless sync. When I then connect it via cable it pops up showing the Set Up Your iPhone screen where I can either setup as a new iPhone or restore from a back up.

    So, I have restored from a recent back up but it keeps going back to the same setup screen, any ideas.

    Running iOS5 Beta 5 and iTunes Beta 5.

    Cheers
     
  2. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
    it#s a problem with wifi syncing. just tell it to set up as new, shouldn't lose anything, tho i did have custom ringtones spaz on me one time,
     
  3. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #3
    Look in the Apple developer forums for a discussion and solution to this.
     
  4. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #4
    Cheers, all sorted now :)
     
  5. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #5
    Why? He found it here.
     
  6. RaceTripper macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #6
    You don't have to do a restore or setup as new. It's much easier than that.
     
  7. uncleiven thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #7
    Please elaborate, though setting up as new didn't actually do anything, it just re-synced my iPhone, then I could sync/backup as normal via wireless.
     
  8. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    tho it may happen again, so either do that each time, or just turn off wifi syncing til next beta
     
  9. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    I lost all of my music when I did that.
    Hours lost having to re-sync it all.
     
  10. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    well it's happened to me about 5 times and i didn't lose any music. on one occassion it messed up ringtones and i had to remove and re-add them, but that was it.
     
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    RaceTripper probably doesn't want to violate the NDA all Developers are under.

    If you are running iOS 5 by the rules you too have access to these private forums. If not, why not wait until it is officially ready for release?

    B
     

Share This Page