iTunes Match Question

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Cscottrun, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Cscottrun macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #1
    So I just purchased iTunes match, its working great. I like to be organized but I have a bunch of songs that are missing album names. Basically my question is, is there a way to have iTunes, once it matches a song, provide the info for a song as it would when you purchased it out of the iTunes store? Or are you stuck with however the song was labeled before it was matched?
     
  2. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #2
    Anything you edit after running iTunes Match will be reassessed once you click "Update iTunes Match" under the Store tab at the top of iTunes, so it should update those entries to your library in iCloud.
     
  3. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    iTunes Match does not use the meta tags in any way.
    Matching is done by scanning the actual file and matching the audio.

    You can change the meta tags to whatever you want, however it won't affect the matching process.
     
  4. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #4
    As I'm pretty sure this is totally incorrect, I would expand on my former statement in saying that similarly to Genius in iTunes, iTunes Match works by scanning your ID3 tags. It is also more dynamic like Genius in that as it matches more songs, it will become more accurate in finding matches for the songs in your library.
     
  5. Cscottrun thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #5
    I should have worded the question better. I want iTunes to match my songs, and in doing that, also fill in the Artist, Track, Album etc...as it would be if I purchased the song from the iTunes store. Hopefully that is worded better.
     
  6. jaynone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #6
    I'd love it if that could happen, but it doesn't fill in any of the missing information or artwork. It keeps your metadata intact.
     
  7. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    it definitely does not use ID3 tags in any way.
    this is easily proved by using wrong tags and then starting match - you'll find you get the correct song based on the file and not the tags.

    the match process is similar to how Shazam etc works.
     
  8. Mobile923 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #8
    I'm pretty sure it matches by scanning the audio, like Shazam and Soundhound.

    The following isn't meant to be a shameless plug:

    I'm a musician and I have two rock albums available in the iTunes Music Store. In my iTunes library, I have my songs as well as their instrumental versions. Then I signed up for iTunes Match...

    Naturally, it matched the album versions, but for a couple of the instrumental versions, it matched them to the full album versions and the rest were uploaded. The ID3 tags and artwork are definitely not the same.

    I'm hoping there's a way to 'force upload' to iCloud.

    The album is called King Friday, by the way.

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/richy923/id301066330

    ...okay maybe a bit of a shameless plug :)
     
  9. Xenc macrumors 6502a

    Xenc

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    There's no way to auto fill the track's ID3 tags. Your best bet would be to use an MP3 tagger (Picard, TuneUp, etc.)
     
  10. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    completely, unequivocally false.
     
  11. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #11
    After reading up from several sources, I'll retract my former statements. I guess iTunes Match works pretty much exactly like Shazam, where it takes "audio snapshots" of the files that are in your library. Huh. Interesting. No wonder it takes forever the first time.

    I'll downgrade my own post for not backing up my statements with research.

    Sorry. :X
     
  12. Kendo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #12
    Is there any way to have itunes Match use the iTunes Store metadata for the tracks?
     
  13. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #13
    @Kendo: A few of the sources I looked up suggested that iTunes match uses a combination of ID3 Tags as well as audio snapshots, but that is most likely pure speculation.
     
  14. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #14
    I really wish this were true, I know I have some metadata hosed up and if it would fix all that plus upgrade the songs that would be great. Unfortunately everything I have read sense match was announced says it keeps your metadata.

    BUT I guess that would really piss off a lot of other people that like to keep it the way they want it. I would love to have the choice but apple in their typical tradition chose to go with less choices and options.
     
  15. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #15
    If iTunes Match matches a song then you can delete your local copy and re-download from the cloud. Once you do that it will have all the metadata from iTunes in it
     
  16. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    no. it retains the metadata that already existed in your original file.
     
  17. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #17
    That's strange - I could have sworn it replaced the metadata, but I've just done another test and you are right - it keeps the existing metadata. Sorry for the mis-info on my original post
     

Share This Page