iTunes not remembering play position after close

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by DeadeyeM, Oct 7, 2018.

  1. DeadeyeM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #1
    Does any one else experience this, when i close iTunes i always start from top playlist. So lets say have listened my song on somewhere in middle of playlist, but after i close itunes and open it it starts from top.
     
  2. Funsize93 macrumors regular

    Funsize93

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Expected behaviour. When you quit iTunes and reopen you are essentially making it "forget" and restart fresh. I would advise that you do not quit iTunes if you wish to maintain your place in the playlist.
     
  3. DeadeyeM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #3
    Silly behaviour tbh i don't think i have noticed this on previous OS's
     
  4. bbnck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #4
    iTunes has become a piece of junk over the years so there is a lot of nonstandard behaviour in this so-called first-party app. Did you know you still can't double-click the title bar to zoom the app window? Four years later and they've still not fixed it.
     
  5. DeadeyeM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    Is there a good alternative to Itunes on mac?
     
  6. bbnck, Oct 8, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2018

    bbnck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #6
    Well, I use Clementine (https://www.clementine-player.org) and it's the only free alternative I have found that has all the features I need, such as support for Internet Radio streams. It has a pretty dated UI but it's very stable and has built-in support for various Internet Radio stations out-of-the-box as well as Spotify for Premium users (not tried that though). I've just checked and I can see it does remember which playlist you were in and what song was last selected when you quit and reopen the app.

    You need to give the app accessibility control (System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy Tab > Accessibility) in order for your media control keys to work when the app is in the background.

    If you don't like the default behaviour of Clementine, you can customise it. Here's what I do:

    In Preferences > Behaviour:

    upload_2018-10-8_13-51-20.png

    In Preferences > Appearance:

    upload_2018-10-8_13-52-12.png


    In Library > Group by > Advanced grouping...

    upload_2018-10-8_13-53-6.png (Click the tool icon)


    upload_2018-10-8_13-53-43.png

    Edit: According to this issue report, you'll need to give the app accessibility control for it to run under Mojave.
     
  7. DeadeyeM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
  8. bbnck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #8
    I'm running it under High Sierra. It works fine.
     
  9. DeadeyeM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #9
    Just double checking so you play a song in some where middle of playlist and then when quit and re-open it it's still hi-lighted on your song and not top song?
     
  10. bbnck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #10
    Yes I tried that and Clementine does that for me. If I play a particular song and then pause it, quit the app and reopen it, that song is visible and highlighted in the playlist it's assigned to.
     
  11. DeadeyeM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #11
    What i meant was not on Clementine but on iTunes do you have this also?
     
  12. bbnck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #12
    Yes it doesn't remember what song I was playing if I quit iTunes, whether or not I pause the song.
     
  13. DeadeyeM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #13
    I'm jsut wandering was that the same on HS hm....
     
  14. bbnck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #14
    I don't know, but I'm still running High Sierra, so the iTunes behaviour is clearly the same on both macOS releases. To be honest iTunes has a lot of strange non-native behaviour. They must use some non-native cross-platform components in the Mac version of iTunes since it runs on Windows as well.
     

Share This Page

13 October 7, 2018