Itunes radio tunning madness

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by aicul, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. aicul macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #1
    Since itunes 10.5 i have a radio tunning error message.

    I have a stand alone old mac that is not connected to the web i use as a jukebox.

    Services such as store, apps, etc and RADIO are all deactivated.

    However, since 10.5, itunes seems to insist in looking for "radio tuning service" and issues an error message suggesting i check my internet connection.

    Any ideas how i can tell itunes to stop this?
     
  2. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #2
    So i tested further.

    Seems the problem appears when I use the new iPhone app "remote".

    This seems to trigger the radio tuning search, which also implies the remote app is asking itunes on the imac for a service it should not provide because it is disabled in parental controls.

    Anyone observed this also ?
     
  3. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
  4. garybUK Guest

    garybUK

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    #4
    Hey, I was wondering if you found a solution to this?

    I started getting this problem last night, no internet connection... setup a 'adhoc network' joined this on my iPhone and started to use iTunes Remote on my iPhone.


    Every 4 or 5 minutes I would get this error, very annoying as you can only clear it by getting up to my laptop (plugged into the TV) and pressing Ok

    Thanks,

    Gary.

    P.S. I did read somewhere about going into iTunes and 'forgetting paired remotes' but mine isn't even showing up there!
     
  5. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #5
    No, I have not found an alternative to this except, "don't use the remote on the iPhone".

    In my eyes this problem is a development blunder. I say this because if I "deactivate" radio as a "parental control" in iTunes, then the remote in the iPhone that talks to this iTunes should reflect this and not request the information that it will not use.

    :apple: I'm actually waiting to see how quickly Apple fixes this, underlying their interest to really have a serious parental control framework, and not just the provision of toggle buttons in the preferences screen.
     

Share This Page