iTunes removed audio on imported videos?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by yg17, May 5, 2013.

  1. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    So I ripped a bunch of TV episodes from a DVD (which I legally own) to put on my iPad. I used the iPad preset in Handbrake. All the files ripped fine and played fine.

    I copied the files into iTunes, spent a good hour or two adding and correcting metadata on them, went to play them back, and half of the files are now completely missing audio. Transferred to my iPad anyways. No audio there. Opened the file in VLC, no audio there either. The audio track in VLC was set to Disabled. Tried switching it to English, no dice. It still stays on disabled. The original source files (before I copied into iTunes) play fine. Seems like iTunes completely wrecked the files, and now it's looking like I may have to reimport them and retag them, possibly only for iTunes to jack them up again. Anyone know what the deal is?
     
  2. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #2
    to tag your files, drag and drop them on this program (identify), and you'll be done in minutes.
    and it hardcodes the tags in the file, so even if itunes craps out, when you re-import them it will keep the info.

    not sure what happened with your files, never seen that happen. iTunes really shouldn't modify your files. i've never seen that happen
     
  3. JoeBlow74 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #3
    Most newer TV shows have a DD 5.1 track along with 2 channel stereo. You have to make sure that "passthrough" is not selected in the audio track. Some of the presets in Handbrake default to passthrough on certain audio tracks if the software see's a DD 5.1. (AC3) If Passthrough is selected for a certain audio track, none of your Apple products, except the AppleTV3 will have sound. Since you are not getting no sound from anything you play these file through, this makes me think that Handbrake was not set properly before the transcode started. You might have to re-encode your files and make sure the audio is set properly. BTW, Identify2 is very cool. It does everything for you as long as you get the IMDB movie code from the top of your browser. THe number should start with a TT followed by a seven digit number
     
  4. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    These files don't have a DD track, just a standard 2 channel AAC track. And the files played fine until I started changing metadata in iTunes.
     
  5. waw74, May 6, 2013
    Last edited: May 6, 2013

    waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5

    Ipad preset on handbrake is one track, stereo only. (as it is for all of the handheld devices)
    you don't get dual tracks unless you use one of the aTV presets.

    If your're doing movies. TV shows are compared to thetvdb.com/.
    naming your files correctly will also fix this "The Amazing Spider-Man (2012).mp4" works.
    For TV shows "Friends.S01E01.mp4" will get you a correct match.
    Punctuation counts, so "American Dad.S01E01" doesn't find a match because it should be "American Dad!.S01E01"

    and as long as you're doing multiple episodes of the same show, "S01E01.mp4" is good enough (but it helps to have the name just for your sake in keeping things organized), you'll just have to select all the tracks in identify, hit "edit tags", then change the gold color boxes to match.
    if you're doing shows with incompatible punctuation in their file names, like : since it can't be used. you must use this method.


    ----
    also iTunes shouldn't modify the file at all, it stores the metadata in it's own library.

    in VLC while playing a file hit "command I" then click "codec details" you should have 2 streams, "stream 0" is typically the video, "Stream 1" is the audio, what does your say on the files that don't work?
     

Share This Page