iTunes won't launch after update

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Pkupman57, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. Pkupman57 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #1
    So, I updated my mid-2012 cMBP to Yosemite today. So far, everything has been great. I think my TM backups have started again (albeit very slowly)... but I can't get iTunes to launch at all... anyone know of a way to fix it? Or just wait for an update? its not a huge deal to me at the moment, but I do use in very frequently.

    Help is much appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    I am having the same issue. Found this on apples support page and worked for me.

    1) Open Finder
    2) Under "Devices" choose your Mac and then select "Macintosh HD"
    3) Select the "Applications" folder.
    4) Find iTunes then RIGHT CLICK and choose "Show Package Contents"
    5) Once you're here: navigate through "Contents" and then to "MacOS" folders.
    6) FINALLY: Up top click on the iTunes file and try to open it normally. If it doesn't budge try RIGHT CLICK and "Open"
     
  3. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #3
    That worked, mostly. If I close out of iTunes, to restart it, i have to follow these steps again. Making my icon in my task bar basically useless.

    No idea what happened, or what doing these steps even accomplished, but it worked.
     
  4. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Agreed. Same thing here too. And my iTunes has been crashing. I haven't been able to find anything else to fix it. Considering a fresh install of the new OS.
     
  5. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #5
    So far, iTunes is stable for me. But it is very annoying to have to open it via Terminal every time, when the icon is right there on the tool bar.

    Im running an upgrade from a fresh instal of Mavericks, but I know of a couple of people with this same issue even with a fresh instal of Yosemite...

    I hope Apple releases a fix for this soon.
     
  6. jdecosta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #6
    I am having the same issue and been on the phone with Apple 2nd level support and their engineering team. If they find a fix I will let you know. We spent about 3 hours working on it today.
     
  7. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #7
    Please do. It isn't the worst thing in the world, but it is definitely an annoyance.
     
  8. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
  9. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #9
    When you get iTunes running is there not a new icon in the Dock - can you "Keep in Dock" for the new icon and remove the old one??
     
  10. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #10
    The icon is there at start up even. The red icon. But clicking it won't launch iTunes. I can't even add it to launch at start up. I can launch it through terminal, and at that point, the 'indicator light' comes on, and from that point on i can click the icon and it'll open the window. I just can't launch it initially from the icon, like every other app.
     
  11. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #11
    Ah if the indicator comes on under the same icon then seems borked. If you remove/run/rekeep does it still fail then on future launches?
     
  12. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    Yep. After doing that it still fails to launch.
     
  13. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #13
    Did you try launching iTunes from another account ?

    If it fails to launch there, you might try deleting iTunes, and installing it again.
     
  14. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #14
    Tried that too... still no luck.
     
  15. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #15
    I restored back to Mavericks from a time machine back up. Upgraded to Yosemite and now iTunes is working. Took all day, but at least it is working now. Maybe something got messed up during the install...
     
  16. jdecosta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #16
    Well I found a fix and very simple.

    Go to Finder and the iTunes app. Right click to "Get Info"

    Change System permission as Read only
    Change Everybody permission as Read and Write.
    This is located at the bottom of the window once you unlock this feature


    This will allow you to delete iTunes completely and does not effect your library

    Do a fresh install of iTunes only via Apples website and it worked!!
     
  17. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #17
    Maybe I missed something, but when I did this, when I tried to delete iTunes, it says it cannot be modified or deleted because it is required by OSX.
     
  18. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #18
    You can delete iTunes by using the Terminal.

    Warning : copy and paste the line below in the terminal, do NOT type it yourself.
    You will need to be in an admin account.

    Code:
    sudo rm -rf /Applications/iTunes.app
    Paste the command, hit Enter, when prompted enter your admin password (will not display), hit Enter again.
     
  19. jdecosta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #19
    Did you change the permissions?
     
  20. Pkupman57 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    El Lay, CA
    #20
    I did, but I found where I went wrong with them. After that it worked. I reinstalled iTunes and its working as it should now. I no longer need Terminal to initially launch iTunes, I can click the icon to do so.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page