iTunes won't open...javascript update confliction?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by matt.musicman, Jul 13, 2009.

  1. matt.musicman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I've had the worst of luck trying to open iTunes for at least the last couple of weeks.

    Here is what my crash log says:
    Date/Time: 2009-07-13 18:44:14.631 -0700
    OS Version: 10.4.11 (Build 8S2167)
    Report Version: 4

    Command: iTunes
    Path: /Applications/iTunes.app/Contents/MacOS/iTunes
    Parent: WindowServer [62]

    Version: 8.2 (8.2)

    PID: 175
    Thread: Unknown

    Link (dyld) error:

    Symbol not found: __ZNK3KJS6JSCell18getTruncatedUInt32ERj
    Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/WebKit.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/WebCore.framework/Versions/A/WebCore
    Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaScriptCore.framework/Versions/A/JavaScriptCore

    Any ideas? I've tried everything I can think of/read online. Nothing has helped so far. I've deleted the preferences, com.apple.itunes...etc, blah blah. Nothing is helping...


    Thanks!
    Matt
     
  2. matt.musicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #2
    For what it's worth...iChat does not open either anymore since I updated Java on June 29, 2009.


    Thanks!
     
  3. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Have you tried adjusting the Java Preferences in the Applications/Utilities folder? Make sure that J2SE 5.0 32-bit is listed first in both sections. I know when I tried having the 64-bit versions first a lot of programs didn't work right until I reverted it back.
     
  4. matt.musicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #4
    Thanks for replying.

    I went into the Java Preferences. J2SE 5.0 is selected as the "Java Version" and J2SE 5.0 is on top of J2SE 1.4.2 in the "Java Application Runtime Settings".

    Still nothing...
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Javascript has nothing to do with Java. At all. Have you messed around with Safari/installed WebKit nightly betas or anything like that?
     
  6. matt.musicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #6
    Nope, I don't ever use Safari. I use Firefox.
     
  7. robert05au macrumors regular

    robert05au

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Dubbo, NSW
    #7
    Try this and see if anything changes

    Setup a new account as a test allow it admin privs

    See if itunes and ichat work with the new account if they do transfer your data across to it.

    I have seen this previously and making a test account worked for me.

    Are the there any crash logs for ichat?

    Also are any other apps affected in any way?
     
  8. matt.musicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #8
    I created a test account with Admin privs, but it still did not work.

    Here is the ichat crash log:
    OS Version: 10.4.11 (Build 8S2167)
    Report Version: 4

    Command: iChat
    Path: /Applications/iChat.app/Contents/MacOS/iChat
    Parent: WindowServer [1983]

    Version: 3.1.9 (446)

    PID: 2020
    Thread: Unknown

    Link (dyld) error:

    Symbol not found: __ZNK3KJS6JSCell18getTruncatedUInt32ERj
    Referenced from: /System/Library/Frameworks/WebKit.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/WebCore.framework/Versions/A/WebCore
    Expected in: /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaScriptCore.framework/Versions/A/JavaScriptCore
     
  9. matt.musicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
  10. matt.musicman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #10
    iPhoto won't open, either. This all happened after I did the update for Java OS 10.4, Release 9.

    This hasn't happened to anyone else?
     
  11. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #11
    Never, but I don't use OS 10.4.11 either. Perhaps the update doesn't get along with Tiger.
     

Share This Page