iTunes won't play the music I imported from cds's

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by KatieHJ, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. KatieHJ macrumors newbie

    KatieHJ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #1
    I imported several cd's and tracks into iTunes last night and there were no problems while importing. I was able to listen to my music in the iTunes library up until this evening.
    When I click on a song, a box pops up saying
    "CONNECTION FAILED: The server may not exist or it is not operational at this time. Check the server name of IP addres and your network connections and try again."

    So I press "OK" and another box pops up saying
    "The song "(name)-(artist)" could not be used because the original file could not be found. Would you like to locate it?"

    I click on "Yes" and see all my songs listed under iTunes/music but all of the songs I have listed in the library are gray and I cannot click on them.

    I have checked that I am connected to my home network/internet because I am able to share/listen to my iTunes library located on my Windows desktop as well as browse the internet.
    The only other thing I could think of doing was downloading the new iTunes 8 which I did, and nothing has changed.

    I am not extremely computer savvy, but can follow directions if someone has experience with this problem or might have a solution for me. Thanks.

    *I am on a 2007 Macbook, if this helps at all. (it is used so I am considering simply taking it to the person who sold it to me to make sure the laptop was cleared properly)
     
  2. pkagel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal ExPat
    #2
    Hmm, allow me to jump on your post here as my problem sounds similar. I had a cd that I syncd to my iphone and it plays fine on my iphone and all the artwork and songs show but I can't play it on itunes anymore as it says it doesn't exist.
     
  3. KatieHJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KatieHJ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #3
    I found this link in a thread on macrumors

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=287812&highlight=how+to+fix+corrupt+iTunes

    *I was getting a gray triangle with an exclamation point in the center*

    I used Script Editor to "Run" this script, but I don't think I was supposed to do this. Afterwards a box popped up saying "108 files found", but when I re-opened iTunes, I only have 7 songs that I am able to play and the AppleScript icon does not appear in the menu bar with script in it.

    "Quit and relaunch iTunes you should now see the Applescript icon in the menu bar with this script in it. Just select it and see how that does."


    I guess I shouldn't have "run" the script as I am now missing 101 songs. I'm not upset at this because I can still import more songs, I just want to know how to
    a) prevent this from happening in the future
    b) if this problem does happen again, I want to know how to do this properly so I won't have to import my songs over and over.

    *******
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    I gotta say I am not sure what is going on with your guys' libraries. Where are your libraries being stored? It doesn't sound like you are storing your music locally, rather on a networked volume. I've never heard of the issues you are having and therefore to possibly offer any assistance I'd have to VNC into your computer to look around. This means I would remotely control your computer. Otherwise, I have no idea what is going on.
     
  5. KatieHJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KatieHJ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #5
    Do you mean to say that the songs I imported might have saved onto my desktop, or a folder that is located on the desktop but connected by the network I share with it?

    I wouldn't mind if you had a poke around but do you have to be within a certain mile/km radius to be able to do that?

    Just thought I'd let you know that I kept the script in my iTunes folder, and imported another cd into iTunes. its only been 12hrs but we'll see if the problem persists.
     
  6. ingenious macrumors 65832

    ingenious

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia, United States (Kansan in exile)
    #6
    It just depends on where your iTunes Library is saved. Your error message makes it sound like it's stored on a network volume (i.e. "a folder that is located on the desktop but connected by the network I share with it").
     
  7. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    No, it can be from anywhere in the world. As for where you saved the music I am saying you have saved it to another computer. Not on your desktop.
     
  8. KatieHJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KatieHJ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #8
    Interesting.
    I know it's possible to share documents from my Desktop to my Macbook, but I didn't know that that it was possible for me to save imported songs on iTunes to another computer.
    (the other computer being my Desktop... I just want to clear up that I am having this problem with my MacBook and am connected to my Windows Desktop Network, which is where I'm guessing your suggesting my files are being saved.)
    When can we arrange for you to have a look about? As well, would you be wanting to look at my MacBook, or on my Windows Desktop to see if the files are being kept there? Or you would just access my Desktop from my MacBook?
    Would it just be easier for you to tell me where I can look for them?

    Like I said, I'm not extremely computer savvy, but I can follow directions and am willing to learn more on how to navigate my computer.

    Thanks again for all the help, I really appreciate it. :)
     

Share This Page