iUP iPhone 7 unlocked GSM phones won't work on CDMA networks

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kjotwani, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. kjotwani macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #1
    Guys. With iUP we get unlocked phones so we are not tied down to a carrier. But with the iPhone 7 launch, there are 2 variants of the Modems

    Model A1660/A1661
    with Qualcomm Snapdragon X12 Modem
    for Sprint and Verizon
    but also works on AT&T and T-Mobile

    Model A1778/A1784
    with Intel XMM 7360 Modem
    for AT&T and T-Mobile
    and will not work on Sprint nor Verizon

    Currently I am on At&T but planning to switch to Verizon. And I got the A1784 model with iUP. My phone would be useless on Verizon network now.

    Anyone know more about this that I am missing?
     
  2. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #2
    You're not missing a thing.

    But it is, 'old' news.

    If you didn't know, you need to be here more often.
     
  3. kjotwani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #3
    Yea but the issue is Apple won't give a Verizon phone to someone who is currently on At&T. And if I switch now, what to do?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 18, 2016 ---
    The 6s worked on any network. Might u enlighten me 'old' news means what?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 18, 2016 ---
    And I am very specifically talking about iUP. I can buy a full priced Verizon compatible phone now(and leave Apple Store without activating it) but being a iUP member they don't allow to leave store without activating the phone. And obviously I can't activate a Verizon compatible phone currently so my option was a GSM compatible phone.
     
  4. xboxphanatic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #4
    You could always do what I did. I switched from AT&T a few months ago to a prepaid MVNO service. What I did to still take advantage of the IUP was sign up as a new Verizon customer at the Apple store. After I was done, I put in my prepaid sim and the phone was ready to go for my service. The next day I went to a Verizon store and had them cancel the account I had to signed up for while I was at the Apple store.
     
  5. rtr1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #5
    Can a sprint model be used with ATT out of the box?
     
  6. now i see it macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #6
    Apple is nickel & dime-ing on the Intel modem at the customer's expense. It's cheaper. ... and won't work on CDMA networks. It's in the small print.

    If anyone wants the "convenience" of the IUP, they're gunna have to put up with the downsides too.
     
  7. kjotwani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #7
    Just an update. I spoke to Apple Store. They said come in return the GSM specific handset and take the CDMA. No need for Verizon account for activating it. They'ok activate it on At&T.
    And I am on iUP and they said yea that's fine with iUP they won't wanna restrict customers coz of modems to a carrier.
    Going to do that now. Will report if everything works out

    This way will get the Qualcomm modem also :)
     
  8. rtr1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #8
    Will this work if I reserve a Sprint model and put in AT&T sim card?
     
  9. Kahsheh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    #9
    That is how i feel.
     
  10. kjotwani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #10
    Technically yes. Checked the bands details on apple's website and it will work
     
  11. rtr1985 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #11
    Thanks. There's a 7+ Sprint avaible and may pull trigger on it if I can pay full price and leave without activating.
     
  12. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #12
    did it work?
     
  13. rui no onna macrumors 603

    rui no onna

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #13
    Please update us on how it works out for you. Would like to do the same with my GSM iPhone 7 if possible. I would have waited for the SIM-free to come out but I needed a new phone ASAP.
     
  14. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #14
    If I was going to do this I would have bought on next and traded it in to Verizon during the switch to get their deal
     
  15. Dirtydutch macrumors 6502a

    Dirtydutch

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Location:
    Jerseyyy
    #15
    This is easily the 15th thread on this and there's actually 2 newer ones below this I'm in disbelief this has come up this many times without people knowing which models have which bands and which ones to purchase. There was an article 2 days before release on top of this being discussed to death. Not to mention multiple users explicitly explaining just purchasing outright at apple is the only way to get the sprint Verizon without an account
     
  16. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #16
    I did call my local Apple Store and I already purchased one at full price. They said I could just come in and 'return' the one I have and do the Upgrade Program with the phone I already have (Verizon version). Even though I'm on AT&T. It's what they said, I'll go there in a few hours to see if it actually works.
     
  17. kjotwani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #17
    They will swap out my current phone for a sim free phone when it comes and will swap the Imei's on iUP
    --- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2016 ---
    This didn't work as the Verizon phone even if u have it now, doesn't have its IMEI in At&T database for activation. We tried this but the phone wouldn't activate on At&T as it's tied on Verizon even though after activation it works on At&T.
    Still if it works out for you let us know what exactly was done and will do same as my store.
    Thanks
    --- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2016 ---
    Hmm but I would lose out on iUP then.
     
  18. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #18
    what if the phone is already activated on AT&T?
     
  19. kjotwani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #19
    As long as you can confirm with At&T they have white-listed the device and added the imei into their system you should be fine.

    But just inserting AT&T sim and using phone won't do the above. Someone from At&T tech needs to do this on their end.
    This is my understanding
     
  20. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #20
    Ok here's the deal. Didn't work. It's just like kjotwani said. Since the iUP needs to be activated on the carrier specified when you buy, it won't work otherwise.
     
  21. aaplwatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #21
    So you could buy a Verizon phone outright - bring it back, "exchange" it to an ATT iup plan and it'll work on ATT?
     
  22. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #22
    Nope. Can't do it.
     
  23. aaplwatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    #23
    How about this?

    1. Buy a verizon phone on iup - start new verizon service. Leave the store. Cancel Verizon service.

    2. Visit an ATT store and add the phone to your account. Use it on ATT.
     
  24. kjotwani thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #24
    Well that can work. But the hassle is opening and cancelling VZ service. And also another credit check that VZ will do
    --- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2016 ---
    Well I got another call today from Apple Store Manager. He said they will extend the return policy on my current phones until the sim free ones come, do all sorts of overrides and swap devices then. Maybe u can also talk to your store manager.
     

Share This Page