I've decided to hold off on SSD's due to

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by chefwong, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. chefwong macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    I was planning to do the whole optibay coversion on my new 13" MBP - but have decided to just wait till TRIM support is supported.

    For those who have jumped the gun....are you guys just wiping free space every once in awhile...
     
  2. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #2
    TRIM should be in 10.7. You don't need it for Sandforce SSD's though. TRIM has nothing to do with my purchases decisions as Sandforce is faster than Intel and Crucial. Fastest SSD's do not need TRIM on Win or Mac OS X. Unless you are planning on buying a crap SSD. Then wait for TRIM support.
     
  3. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #3
    An SSD with a good controller does not need TRIM. Also, wiping drive space is kindof the opposite of what TRIM does...Trim returns blocks to an unwritten state, while wiping drive space with Disk Utility just overwrites data with 1's and 0's.
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    I've been using SSDs without trim for two years. I do a secure erase once a year whether it needs it or not, but I've never noticed any degradation in performance even with them full to 80% capacity. I think your concern is unfounded.
     
  5. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #5
    It is...for Apple ssd's. If you've got something else it'll be garbage collection in the ssd. Both technologies are on par so it doesn't matter if you have trim or not.
     
  6. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    As of the recent dev preview, yes. However, I would expect that by the time the OS goes gold, there will be much better support for a wider range of hard drives. That said, I'm waiting for Lion to buy an SSD as well. I'm going to waste my money on RAM for my Pro instead. :)
     
  7. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #7
    Agreed, most modern SSD's have decent garbage collection routines that make up for most of the difference of not having trim support. Besides, a poorly performing SSD is still a lot faster than a good performing hard drive.

    Skip the ram unless you are frequently running out of it.
     
  8. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #8
    Think big picture, you're foregoing daily satisfaction, speed, etc for a secure erase that will take maybe 4 hours of your time once a year. Plus, you've got TRIM support on the horizon with Lion.

    Personally, I don't see the trade off and why I'm happily using SSDs today.
     
  9. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #9
    Your post is in the wrong forum.

    I have an OCZ Vertex 2 SSD and optibay HD setup in my 15 MBP. That setup works fabulous.

    I have had ZERO issues with slowdown in the OCZ SSD.

    Johng
     
  10. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #10
    +1... a case of the cure being worse than the disease! :)

    BTW, last time I reset my 3 SSDs to factory condition took me about 20 minutes.
     

Share This Page