I've got $700 CAD to blow on a home-recording setup.

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by cleanup, Oct 1, 2010.

1. cleanup macrumors 68030

cleanup

Suggestions? :)

I've been making due with an AT2020 USB for about a year now but I'm just not satisfied with the sound. There's lots of background noise, but the levels don't seem great. I want a proper interface with adequate levels, low noise (a good compressor) and at least two channels. Proper mics for vocals, strings (acoustic, classical & a ukulele... the acoustic and classical can be plugged in). Stands? Pop-filters? Etc.

I'm running Windows 7, by the by.

Bonus points for any interface that can also take a USB mic.

I'm a complete newb at this, so please be gentle!

Thanks. :)

2. mpdonlanjr macrumors newbie

i have a presonus firestudio mobile (comes with studio one so its windows friendly) and it does a pretty good job recording vocals and acoustic guitar. I am pairing it with a AT2020 xlr microphone and it does a good job.

Id say get a firewire interface presonus makes good ones so does apogee.

Get a proper microphone Condenser preferred maybe a matching set if you wanna do double micing of an acoustic guitar one at the sound whole and one on the fingerboard.

A good monster xlr cable that is double shielded cost around $30.00 us for 6ft

Decent Boom Stand and pop filter for vocals

i use all this with garage band and my attempts to figure out logic.

Go to your local music center and ask the recording guys they will usually hep you stick in your budget. I got my gear because my friends used the bigger versions of the stuff i bought and i figured it be good for doing rough demos of my bands songs as well as acoustic stuff i write on my own.

3. Luap macrumors 65816

Luap

Windows 7? How comes? (y'know, this being Macrumors 'n all)