I've got the idea, I need the developer

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Simgar988, Mar 27, 2011.

1. Simgar988 macrumors 65816

Simgar988

If someone was to come up with excellent iphone app concept, but didn't have the ability to develop it, what is the best thing to do? Is it logical to hire an artist and a dev and present the idea and have a certain amount of direction and leadership in the project?
    Should there be percentage ownership of the app, or should I pay hourly?

Just looking for ideas and input, thank!

2. namanhams macrumors regular

In my opinion, you should hire an artist and a developer, both are available here :

http://www.freelancer.com/projects/by-job/iPhone.html

You can let them bid for the whole project. Share ownership of the app is attractive to the bidder, although i think it's not necessary.

I'm an iPhone freelancer there and i can tell you that many people like you do so and really succeed.

3. dantastic macrumors 6502

dantastic

um, what's the deal with that site anyway? I've come across it before but I had a look again there now.

Most projects are not very well described, you couldn't possibly even guess the time required. I didn't see one actual specification being available.
    Other may have some form of description but 'bids' of a couple of hundred and will be done yesterday.

It doesn't look like a setup for a successful business relationship imo...

Or have anyone used it and have a different opinion?

4. namanhams macrumors regular

Yes i have been a freelancer there and done quite a few projects there and all are successful. Normally the employer doesn't put the details there, and only shares it via Private Message with someone they trust.

You can adjust your estimation of time and amount of money after you know the detail of the project. But it's not big issue actually, since you can always discuss with the employer and extend the deadline.

I really have long relationship with some employers there.