I've made a huge error & desperately need help!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by robbyrichmond, Jul 15, 2010.

1. robbyrichmond macrumors newbie

Hi everyone
    Im pretty new to macs and dont really know what i'm doing with them.

I've inherited my brothers imac and it's running mac osx 10.5.8 i think, i cant really be sure as ive done something really really stupid.

The mac runs both windows and mac osx and that takes up loads of space on the hard drive and i was told to try and clean up the drive using a program called clean my mac. I did this successfully but i still needed more space to install Final cut studio. A friend recommended that i try and delete or remove additional languages i dont use, hindu, swedish etc. I ran a program called indiscribe, something like that, and it removed a load of languages.

However, it seems to have also deleted a load of the english languages like english (US) that it would appear are critical to the running of the mac.
    later that evening i turned my mac off as usual and when i went ot turn it on in the morning i couldnt and still can get it to log in or load up.
    the classic white page with the grey apple logo appears, with a spinning jobby thing and then it goes to a blue page. which wont allow any of the buttons i press on the keyboard to log me or bascially do anything.

is there anything i can do?

also if there is, is there a way to disinstall the windows hard drive thingy, that takes up over 100 gigs of space?

i truly hope someone can help as im completely stuffed and have no idea what the dickens im doing!
    many thanks in advance
    Rob

2. Commenter macrumors member