I've Never Seen a Mac Pro Freeze Like This

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by woodysproduce, Oct 11, 2014.

  1. woodysproduce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #1
    My Mac Pro is completely frozen. I can't get past the white Apple screen, the spinning wheel freezes everytime and sometimes the screen even flickers.

    I took out all of the hard drives, tried to install a fresh OS X Mavericks on a new HD, can't boot in Safe Mode....nothing is working!

    I've tried searching the web for a solution, but haven't seen anyone with this same specific problem.

    Any help would be much appreciated!

    Thanks :apple:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #2
    Try booting in verbose mode it should show where the hang is. I believe it's command +v bur you can google it
     
  3. Unami macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Austria
    #3
    it's not that uncommon in terms of mac-freezes - could be anything from bad hardware to bad software (i had this severel times when i ****ed up my hackintosh system, and i've heard it from several people with faulty hardware - bad drives, mainboard, gpu,...).

    you tried a fresh install of mavericks - can you boot from usb or did you only try to get into safe mode. if you can't boot drom usb or dvd (try an old install disc) - it will probably be defect hardware.
     
  4. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    If you're looking for help it would be prudent to list the specs.
     
  5. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #5
    Thank you for the quick replies!

    I booted in verbose mode and it got to a point where it froze and the screen is blinking again. Not sure of the specs of the computer because I can't boot to look at them :(

    Attached pic of the frozen screen...pretty sure it's not the drives because I tried a fresh install from a USB drive with a new HD.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. macines macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    #6
    yep, youre ****ed big time :)
     
  7. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    You don't know what kind of Mac YOUR computer is ?
     
  8. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    That wasn't helpful for him/her at all.
     
  9. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
  10. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #10
    Have you tried SMC and PRAM reset ?

    Can the Apple h/w test be started ? If yes, does it complete successfully ?

    Starting in recovery, using disk utility to check the disk, does it find any errors ?

    If you have a second mac around, can you use target disk mode to boot this one on ?
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Disconnect everything apart from power, display and keyboard. I'm not hoping for much but it's worth a shot.

    Also try the PRAM/SMC resets as noted above.
     
  12. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #12
    You might want to take another look over here. You're attempting to install Mavericks on a 2,1 Mac Pro. People are attempting to troubleshoot your machine like it's SUPPOSED to be able to run Mavericks. Did you replace boot.efi as described in the guide? How did you create the installer?
     
  13. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #13
    I've tried unplugging everything for a few hours and then turning back on...

    Reset the PRAM a few times...

    Cannot even boot into Safe/Recovery mode, it does the same freeze....

    I took out all of my hard drives and put a new SSD in. Tried to do a fresh install via USB drive with Mavericks...same freeze

    I do have a Macbook I can use to run external tests on the system if you think it would give a proper diagnosis :)

    ----------

    I created the installer from my Macbook (5,1 2008 model). I'm not sure how to replace the boot.efi in the guide?
     
  14. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #14
    Do you still have the original install DVD ?

    If you do boot from it and run the Apple Hardware Test.
     
  15. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #15
    Don't have the original disk- I am thinking about trying to download an older OS X and trying to install that- but it's gotta be a hardware issue.

    Thanks for all the help!! Much appreciated!
     
  16. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #16
    Your MacPro won't install Mavericks natively, nor will it boot into Mavericks without using the special tricks found elsewhere on the 'net. Did you use some of those tricks to make the installer - or was it simply making a copy of the installer that you download from Apple? Standard Mavericks install won't work on a MacPro that old.
     
  17. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #17
    Made the install USB from my Macbook by downloading Mavericks and using Diskmaker X.
     
  18. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
  19. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #19
  20. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #20
    You machine will not boot Mavericks because the boot.efi has not been properly replaced. If you don't think you're up to it, I would do as recommended here and install a copy of Lion, the latest "supported" OS X your system can run. That should get you going.
    -N
     
  21. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #21
    SO....

    I installed OS X Lion on here now (the screen looked really ****ed up when it was installing, but it did install) and now when I turn on:

    -White Apple logo screen

    -Freezes on attached image.

    Graphics card?
     

    Attached Files:

  22. dopeman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #22
    reinstall the whole thing.

    ----------

    oh my.... scarier than halloween monsters....
    hmmm..reinstall..can u?
     
  23. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #23
    Haha yeah BOOO!

    I tried to reinstall. No luck.

    The weird thing to me is that the White Apple screen and the 'select install disk' screens look normal.
     
  24. woodysproduce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    #24
    Install screen looking like this now


    ....or someone slipped LSD in my coffee :eek:
     

    Attached Files:

  25. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #25
    Yes. Replace it or bake (will last couple of days, weeks, months more).
     

Share This Page