iWeb and 1&1 hosting

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by bookandbean, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. bookandbean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone had any luck in building a website on iWeb, saving it to a folder, then posting it to the web with 1&1 being the web host? I realize you need to use an FTP client, and I've tried CyberDuck and CuteFTP, but I don't seem to be having any luck. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. jng macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    You have to export the site from iWeb to a folder and then upload via FTP.
     
  4. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    I have used iWeb and 1&1 since iWeb came out with no issues.
    Any FTP app should work
    What problems are you having
     
  5. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #5
    My site is done on iWeb & posted to 1&1 via Fetch. Absolutely no problems, other than the fact I have no talent, skill, eye for design, or time to really make it any better.
     
  6. Grasbak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    does fetch sync files or do you have to upload the whole site each time you make a change?
     
  7. jng macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    Reupload I believe. Unless you change a filename or something, you only need to reupload specifically edited file(s).
     
  8. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #8

    Since there's not much to my site, I just upload the whole thing, but as was stated above, you only need to upload changed files.
     
  9. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #9
    I've just switched from an internal server hosting my site to 1&1. I personally don't like them. When ever I try to ftp into their server and transfer files the server connection is reset. It takes exactly 10 mins to come back and in the mean time my site is also down for that time.
     
  10. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #10
    You should call 1&1's support line, I have been using them for almost 4 years and I have never had any issues.
     
  11. paleck macrumors 6502a

    paleck

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    with the Tequila!
    #11
    One thing that no one has mentioned is active versus passive ftp. Sometimes if you are behind a nat or some type of firewall then using passive ftp will either not work or do very odd things like resetting the connection. Try setting whatever setting is available in your ftp program to use active and not passive.

    Edit: I realy should spellcheck and/or read through my own writing before hitting submit.
     

Share This Page