iWeb and URL weirdness.....

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by skinnylegs, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    I have 2 websites that I have created with iWeb. If I highlight one of the sites and click "Visit Site," it brings me to the site in my browser. However, if I copy the URL and send it to someone they are unable to view the webpage. For instance, I created a website for a parish fundraiser. If I go to the site, the URL is http://web.mac.com/sjesser/iWeb/Fall Festival 2007/Welcome.html. However, when I send someone that URL they can't view the page.

    But.....if I publish the page, when it is done publishing a box pops up that says, "Your site has been published. Announce your website with an email messaqge containing your website address, or view the website within your browser. You can visit your website anytime by entering this address in a web browser: http://web.mac.com/sjesser. Then there are 3 buttons:"Annunce," "Visit Site Now" and "OK". If I choose "Announce," Mail starts up and presents me with a formated letter that I can send to whoever I want. If I send them this email it works.

    Please advise. I'd simply like to be able to provide whoever I want a URL for the websites I create. Oh yeah.....if I send them to http://web.mac.com/sjesser they are able to see *both* websites which can be a bit of a hassle.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    The link you created takes me to a home page of what looks like a parish. Is that the URL that you copy after pressing Visit Site?
     
  3. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3
    Yeah....that's it. For whatever reason, when I send a link to my folks they always get an error message. Is it because they are using IE?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Nah, I can get the site on my Dell with Explorer... Your parents can get to different iWeb and .Mac links, right? Just checking if it's a network or ISP-side issue. :)
     
  5. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    It happened with someone else I sent the link to as well and it's happened more than once.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    What email client are you using, and what text encoding? The only thing I can think of is that maybe your client or your email provider is modifying the URL. :eek:
     
  7. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
  8. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  9. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9

    Attached Files:

  10. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #10
    That is exactly what I am talking about, Eraserhead. The first link works for some people sometimes. The second link seems to work just fine.

    Now, if I only had one website, it would not be a problem. However, I have 2 websites that I created so what address do I give for the second site? My generic http://web.mac.com/sjesser will bring them to the first site.
     
  11. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #11
    When I posted at Apple discussions, someone mentioned that the reason the links may not be working is because they are too long. He suggested changing the name of the site(s) and not use any spaces. So, I changed the first site from Fall Festival 2007 to FF7 and I changed the second site from Van Vinson Gallic to VVG and republished both sites. I visited the first site and the new URL is now http://web.mac.com/sjesser/iWeb/FF7/Welcome.html Nice! However, when I visit the second site the URL is http://web.mac.com/sjesser/iWeb/VAN/Van Vinson Gallic...pt. 1.html As you can see it still includes the %blah blah blah.

    For the life of me, I can't understand why the first site would republish with the new more user-friendly URL but the second site won't?
     
  12. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #12
  13. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  14. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #14
    Interesting......

    Given the fact that both links are now working, I'm *assuming* the the address I give out will aways be http://web.mac.com/sjesser/iWeb/<whatever I name each site>

    Thanks for your help, Eraserhead!
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15
    Yeah, they both worked for me too, but I haven't got one of them not to work. :confused:
     
  16. skinnylegs thread starter macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego

Share This Page