iWeb and windows...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by shawsinio, Aug 16, 2007.

1. shawsinio macrumors regular

Hi all,

I am a total novice when it comes to building websites. I have just created a website for my university rugby club using iWeb. However, when i leave university, and therefore the club, someone else will take over the updating of the site etc. This person will most likely be using a windows computer. Is it possible for them, if i give them the files, to edit the website on a windows machine, and a windows web design program, will it be compatible? I really am a complete newb when it comes to this!

Thanks in advance for any replies,

Shawsinio

2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

There's not really any easy ay to do this. As far as I know, other apps don't recognise the Domain file iWeb creates. I'm not sure if there are any apps that could import a published site either. Hopefully I'm wrong... :eek:

3. zim macrumors 65816

zim

Your only option is to export the site by using the File>Publish to a folder option. The published content could then be opened in any text editor or WYSIWYG application, i.e. Dreamweaver. BUT, I should warn you that although iWeb compiles valid xhtml and css it does so by placing everything into a div, which could be a bit of a headache to work on.

So, simple answer, yes but not without some frustration.

4. Nuc macrumors 6502a

Nuc

I'm sure someone will want to change the website design once you leave anyways. If they don't then tell them to get a Mac :D I'm sure someone will have a Mac or have access to one.

Nuc

5. janitorC7 macrumors 6502a

janitorC7

my advise.

Ditch iweb, learn HTML and CSS (it will be usefull anyway, and its not hard at all), create your site inside a Content management system, and they will be able to update the text from any browser.

if you ask me that would not be hard, and would be the best option.

6. shawsinio thread starter macrumors regular