iWeb for Godaddy.com?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by superspiffy, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #1
    I have no experience in web design but I want to start a website through Godaddy.com. Can I use iWeb to create the website and sync it with Godaddy or any other service other than mobileme?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I think you just have to configure the FTP server and it should update.
     
  3. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #3
    I'm assuming you want to publish directly from iWeb to your personal domain hosted by GoDaddy.

    In your GoDaddy account, you need to change the DNS settings to CNAME, specifically to web.me.com.

    Once that's done, in Mobile Me Account settings, select Personal Domain and click "Done."
     

    Attached Files:

  4. seattle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #4
    If you do not have a ME account you can publish to a folder in iWeb and then FTP the folder to godaddy or other hosting service.
     
  5. CirtexHosting macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    #5
    Godaddy is domain name registrar and little bit wen hosting provider. And it is not recommended to get domain and web hosting from the same place
     
  6. mwchris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    SO would it be better to go through YOUR company??? :cool:

    You are fine using GODaddy for BOTH your domain registrar AND web hosting!

    They are a huge company that offers a great service and convience, mind you their main page is a nightmare and confusing, especially for new users.

    Develop your site in iWeb, then select File>publish to folder.

    Then you can either use the FTP built into go daddy, your own ftp, or just connect to the server form your mac and drag the files over.

    GoDaddy has a pretty good help section on FTPing so I recommend you check it out.

    Also, be sure you didn't select to use their website creation tool, or it will disable the FTP profile.

    Good luck and post any questions you have, someone will chime in I am sure . . . . just ignore the newbies.
     
  7. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
  8. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #8
    I have a question involving this, my domain is all set up fine for www.mydomainname.com

    however if you try to put in mydomainname.com it won't work.. What's the CNAME for that? Can anyone help?
     
  9. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
  10. MojoWill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #10
    there should be a www entry in your dns settings set it to the same thing as your cname
     
  11. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #11
    That has been done, still doesn't make mydomainname.com go to the actual site, just some ****** go daddy page.

    That is why I am super confused.
     
  12. Mitou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #12
    If you bought your domaine name through godaddy and you have a problem with the forwarding or redirecting to another server give them a call and they will walk you through the steps. They have great phone support.
    for the poster saying not to buy domain and hosting services from the same company can you tell us why. I was just thinking of buying my hosting from godaddy.
    Any reasons I should not I have my domain name from them.
     

Share This Page