iWeb: How do I remove iwebs 'site name' from published URL

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mrboston987, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. mrboston987 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Hello all.

    I have a question regarding publishing to .Me using iWeb and thought I'd ask the pro's

    I've created a site and I can publish it without issue, but I can see the 'site name' given by iweb in the URL.

    here's an example: iWeb shows the site a 'Site_1' so when I publish to .Me, I see the URL as www.example./Site-2/home.html.

    How can I remove the 'site_2' from the URL?

    Thanks.
     
  2. iNash macrumors 6502

    iNash

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hanslope, UK
    #2
    I'm a little confused by what you mean.

    Do you mean, you have called a site "DizzyHeights" for example and the URL for this site is:

    http://web.me.com/tom.nash/DizzyHeights/Home.html

    And what you would like to do is remove the "DizzyHeights" part so all you would see is:

    http://web.me.com/tom.nash/Home.html?


    If so, unfortunately this cannot be done as imprinting the site name is how iWeb differentiates between multiple websites you have published.

    For example you may also have published another site called: TomNash, iWeb would publish the two different sites with two different URLs (see below)

    Site 1: http://web.me.com/tom.nash/DizzyHeights/Home.html

    Site 2: http://web.me.com/tom.nash/TomNash/Home.html (not a real link)

    The only way to mask it is to purchase a domain name and forward it to your published website.

    For example, clicking on: http://www.dizzyheightsdevelopment.com actually takes you to: http://web.me.com/tom.nash/DizzyHeights/Home.html but the website viewer would never know that.

    Hope this very long winded answer helps?
     
  3. mrboston987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    The only way to mask it is to purchase a domain name and forward it to your published website.

    For example, clicking on: http://www.dizzyheightsdevelopment.com actually takes you to: http://web.me.com/tom.nash/DizzyHeights/Home.html but the website viewer would never know that.

    Hope this very long winded answer helps?


    It helps alot. Thank you. I actually did purchase a site through register.com and forward the URL. Sorry i didn't mention that earlier.

    Here's the real site: www.northhillproperties.com

    I put that into the browser, I get www.northhillproperties/Site_2/home.html.

    The 'site-2' was put there by iWeb and I would like to remove it. If I can't, no biggie, but if I can give it a cleaner look, I'd like to.

    Actually, the 'site_2' has been replaced by a '1' as I changed the site name in iWeb. Id like to remove the '1' all together.
    Thanks again.
     
  4. iNash macrumors 6502

    iNash

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hanslope, UK
    #4
    I'm not familiar with register.com as I use 123reg however I understand what you mean now.

    You need to set up (on register.com's) side your URL forwarding to be "FRAMED WEB FORWARDING" that way everypage will simply have www.northhillproperties.com without the /site2/home.html etc.

    The set up I think you have is "Framed Web Forwarding - TO A SINGLE PAGE" which adds the site2 etc part at the end.

    I can't see anything here: http://help.register.com/cgi-bin/re...rch_text=framed+web+forwarding&p_new_search=1

    But may be worth asking them a question if it's not obvious?
     
  5. iNash macrumors 6502

    iNash

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hanslope, UK
  6. mrboston987 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Thank you for all the help.

    I do appreciate it.
     
  7. AussieBurner macrumors newbie

    AussieBurner

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    Flinders St Melbourne
    #7
    How to remove iweb's 'site name' from published URL

    Assuming you're publishing via FTP and not directly to MobileMe:

    Instead of sending your site directly to your FTP server, save it as a file instead.

    Get a free FTP transfer program for your Mac via Google. Vicomsoft has a free FTP Client version. No need to pay for the full version.

    Connect to your FTP server via your FTP program. You should now be able to see the files that are on your server - if you used a program like Vicomsoft.

    Vicomsoft will have a window on the left that shows files on your computer and a window on the right that shows files on your server.

    Delete the file on the server with the iWeb 'site name'.

    Go to your saved iWeb files in the left window of Vicomsoft and open the folder with iWeb's 'site name'.

    Select all contents in that folder and drag them across to your server where you deleted the iWeb file previously.

    So now, your root directory server will not go to your iWeb 'site name' file, it will go directly to your index page that you've just replaced and directly to the other pages from there, without going through 'site name'.

    How's that?? HA!!

    Now you can properly create Google's Webmaster html page with a text file and just drop it on your server and do all the other wonderful things that help you get top listing.
     
  8. iNash macrumors 6502

    iNash

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    Hanslope, UK
    #8
    Erm... the OP states that he is indeed posting to MobileMe... :rolleyes:

     

Share This Page