iWeb. Mobileme. godaddy.com?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Nadasive, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Nadasive macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #1
    I made a website with iWeb, its all done and everything.
    Im going to buy a domain from godaddy.com but before i do i just want to see what to do?

    okay i buy the domain name from godaddy but how do i make it so when i click update or publish on iweb it makes the changes to the domain i bought from godaddy

    im new to the whole website creating thing so anything would be awesome :)
     
  2. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #2
  3. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #3
    okay i dont understand the part where it says

    "Point your personal domain to MobileMe by going to your domain name registrar’s domain name service (DNS) management area, creating a “www” CNAME record, and then pointing it to “web.me.com” or “web.me.com.” (including the period) in the address field."

    how do i 'point' to mobileme?

    Can somebody help me with this?
     
  4. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    its very easy. you go to godaddy.com and log in to your account. then you select domain manager, select your domain, and there is a cname field. you put web.me.com in there. again, its super easy. i'll post a screenshot for you in a bit.
     
  5. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
  6. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Ok, so are my complete instructions for how to change the cname w/ a godaddy domain.


    1. Go to godaddy.com , and sign in to your account.
    2. Once you are logged in, click Domain Manager at the left of the page.
    [​IMG]
    3. Select your domain
    [​IMG]
    4. Click Total DNS Control
    [​IMG]
    5. Now you'll see this page. See where it says www under cname? at the far right, click the piece of paper with a pencil in the www row. Just edit that to say web.me.com save it, and thats it. It may take a few hours for the changes to take effect.
    [​IMG]

    Just reply back if you have trouble.
     
  7. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #7
    so im guessing i leave the ttl option alone?

    and do i change both spots to web.me.com or just the top one?


    [​IMG]
     
  8. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    should look like this. I set my TTL thing to 1/2 hour. not sure it really matters though. If 1 hour is the default, its probably good to leave it there.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Nadasive thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Henderson, Nevada
    #9
    Okay.. Thank you, i learned a **** load today! :D
     
  10. new2mac2008 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #10
    How long does it take for it to work?? I followed these steps and it still is not showing up on the site address. It is just the GoDaddy page saying it is parked for free here.
     
  11. macbookairman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    give it 24 hours and make sure you've set up your domain on me.com/account too.
     
  12. RSW macrumors member

    RSW

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    #12
    Thanks for the thread! It helped me set up my website with GoDaddy.
     

Share This Page