iWeb Publishing Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by quicksip, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. quicksip macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #1
    Hi there, just have two problems, I have just published the website www.quicksip.co.uk through FTP on iWeb. The only problem I have is that when you visit the site and type in www.quicksip.co.uk the web address bar will automatically reset to www.quicksip.co.uk/www.quicksip.co.uk/welcome.html

    Obviously I dont mind about the welcome.html but why does it have my domain name twice? Is this an error with iWeb or my host (iPage)

    Secondly if you would be kind enough to look at the survey page (im not asking you to complete it) but the submit button at the bottom left of the survey seems to work on all computers and iPads but it is all confused and messed up on iPhones!

    Any help would be much appreciated!


    Thank you
     
  2. quicksip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    :-(

    No body got any ideas, I have figured out the problem with the iPhone but the two domain names is really bugging me!!!
     
  3. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    You might get more responses if you give some details on what you have done and tried. Perhaps a screen shot of the publishing dialog would be a good start.
     
  4. quicksip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    screenshots

    here are some screen shots, I have tried fiddling with the publishing page but nothing has seem to work, I am using iPage (not mobileme) so it could be a problem with that but I don't have a clue about it. I have never done a website through iWeb or iPage before.

    thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Shawnpk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I have the same problem with my site created with iWeb and published through GoDaddy. It doesnt really bother me. Why does it bother you?
     
  6. quicksip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #6
    .

    It's not a massive deal, I just think it looks very un-professional/not much effort has been put in. There is no reason a website should have its domain name twice when every single other website has it just once.

    I can live with it but would rather not, it just portrays an image of lack of effort or willingness to sort out the small problems (its normally small things that annoy me more than the big ones)

    Thanks
     
  7. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #7
    Try deleting all the files on the server, publishing the files locally onto your Sites folder, and then dragging them into your server folder. You may find that in your www.domain folder there is another www.domain folder which your index file is pointing to.

    This has happened to me once too.
     
  8. quicksip thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #8
    Publish locally

    Thanks for the reply, im glad other people have had this problem to....

    I tried this and obviously did something horrifically wrong, its just not really there anymore!!!
     
  9. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #9
    I think it's because you put your URL in the "Site Name" field. Change that site name to something else, and I bet your final URL will be
    Code:
    http://www.quicksip.co.uk/WhateverYouPutInSiteName/welcome.html
     

Share This Page