iweb / safari / browser background colour

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dave12345, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. dave12345 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #1
    Hi Guys - I've built a website in iweb - I've set all the page background and browser background colour to slightly off white - however when I view the website in safari there's a strip of white across the bottom of the page - then if I resize the browser window it updates to the off white colour I have selected... firefox works fine.

    does anyone else have a problem with browser background like this ?


    Cheers
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    It would be easier if you provided a link. Also, so you know, there is a web design & development forum here.
     
  3. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Sounds to me like your divs and/or CSS might be acting up a little. However, without being able to look at the problem, I couldn't say. And simply resizing the browser window shouldn't reset the code, and so I can't see how that's solving the problem.

    Screenshots? Link?
     
  4. dave12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #4
    here's a link - www.tomguest.co.uk - thanks for any help... only seems to happen in safari
     
  5. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I'm using Safari 4 and not seeing the white strip. What version are you using when you see it?
     
  6. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #6
    Same here. I don't see anything wrong and I'm using the Safari 4 Beta on Windows.
     
  7. dave12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #7
    thanks for the help guys ... i'm using safari 4 beta on mac - it happened on the previous version of safari also - here's a screen grab of what i'm talking about ... if i resize the window the white strip disappears.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Well, I at least figured out why I couldn't see it. You can only see that strip if your browser is viewing area is taller than the entire height of the web page. I'm on a MacBook so have a short screen and didn't notice it as I have to scroll the page. Unfortunately that doesn't help much in solving it.

    I also notice if you view the frame of the page that has the content, it doesn't have the issue. So I guess the problem lies somewhere within iWeb's use of frames and painting the background past the end of the page.
     
  9. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #9
    This is why Dreamweaver was made

    Dont try to take iWeb beyond child level website design.
    It just becomes a nightmare and isn't worth the stress.
     
  10. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    Exactly. Don't even get me started on how iWeb sites render under IE, or under any Windows browser. Horrible, just horrible.

    Don
     
  11. dave12345 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    #11
    thanks guys - i will have a look at dream weaver ...
     
  12. newpixel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #12
    FOUC problem?

    Hi dave12345,

    It seems to me that you're running into a FOUC problem... http://jonaquino.blogspot.com/2007/02/workaround-for-safari-fouc-bug.html

    I've been able to partially solve it using inline styles for the <body> tag:

    Code:
    <title>XXXXX</title>
    <style type="text/css">
    body {
    	background-color: #000;
    }
    </style>
    
    [I](other CSS / head code below)[/I]
    I'm still trying to sort out to solve a white flash that users get when a page within a frameset is loaded.

    Hope it helps,

    Tomi
     

Share This Page