iWeb still kicks butt

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Undecided, Nov 14, 2016.

1. Undecided, Nov 14, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016

Undecided macrumors 6502a

I liked iWeb back in the day - built a nice site with it that I since abandoned. Sure, no master pages, but the templates are just great.

Just now, I had to whip up a replacement landing page for someone shutting down her site.

Good grief, iWeb is just awesome.

Beautiful site with a few clicks, publish to a folder, upload with Fetch (I could have uploaded via FTP directly but I already had Fetch configured for her site).

It's really a shame Apple no long publishes iWeb but I guess personal pages are a thing of the past.

2. Starfia macrumors 6502

Starfia

Oh, that's sort of good to hear. I used iWeb for one or two things, but I'm also a web developer and I'm aware how far from its internals standards have evolved in the years since – which bothers me just because I'm aware of it – but it's nice to know it's actually aged well for people who want the ease of using it.

I suppose making ways to create good-looking web pages is something so many other people are doing now that Apple didn't see the need to keep that up; a fairly Apple-like attitude if you look at other examples. Back when they introduced it, they seemed to speak as though they felt a need for a product like that because others didn't really exist then.

I hope personal pages aren't that dead; I think I supposed they would become better and more plentiful, and I love the idea of a world in which everyone who wants to can make themselves investigable in such an incredibly customizable way as the web allows now.

3. smirking macrumors 6502a