iWork '08 vs Office '08 (or 2004)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by asdfTT123, Jan 20, 2008.

1. asdfTT123 macrumors regular

I've been an avid MS Office Suite user for my entire life, but ever since I purchased my Macbook I've had a positive take on Apple software. I've been looking at iWork '08 and I was wondering if someone could give me a comparison of it vs the current Office '08 or '04. I'm a college student and I frequently use Word and Excel for papers, lab reports, and organizational tools. From what I understand, iWork has it's own equivalent counterparts. Do they support .doc and .xls extensions and is it fully compatible (both ways) to Office? Also, does iWork deliver a better user experience overall? Thanks for the input.

2. bacaramac macrumors 65816

bacaramac

I haven't used full use of excel and have fairly basic spreadsheets.

I have issues with conditional formatting and a few other little things. If you require Excel, then stay with Excel. Personally I like iWork as anything work related I have my work laptop and I think Numbers is great for the fairly basic spreadsheets that I create for personal budget, etc.

You can export iWork files to office, but may have some items that don't transfer 100%. I think iWork is by far a lot better user experience.

EDIT: Try the free trial and see if you like it.

3. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

BornAgainMac

I see some formatting just not translate correcting to Word on Windows from Pages. PDF is perfect though. I think if certain rules are followed with iWork then it is possible to save and retrieve everything fine. I just don't know what all the rules are besides not picking a font that doesn't exist on Windows.

It is the little things that I miss in iWork. For example, numbering by letters in Pages or Sorting excluding the headings and selecting the column header in Numbers. I like the filter feature in Excel. Numbers and Pages are easier to make better looking output though.