iWork or Microsoft Office 2011 for my new MBA?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Sugi209, Feb 7, 2011.

1. Sugi209 macrumors newbie

I just ordered my 13" MBA, and hopefully should be here on Wednesday. My MBA is 4GB, 256GB, 2.18 Ghz with flash storage. This is will be the first time I am getting a Mac system. I am a college student who uses Words, Excel, and especially Power Point. So, which should I get? iWork or Microsoft office 2011? And if I get the iWork 2011, what does it come with?

All the suggestions and replies are much appreciated. Thank you

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

iWork 2011 doesn't exist. Office 2011 is superior in pretty much every way to iWork '09. You can probably get it at a steep discount from your university.

3. Btrthnezr3 macrumors 6502a

Btrthnezr3

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

For me, comparability was a big issue so MS Office was a no brained. Especially since you can get office student for only $99 on amazon. Good luck!

4. Pgohlke macrumors 6502

Well if you are used to Office then I would get that. However, if you want to try something new get iWork. Its really easy to use once you get that just about every option is in the inspector thing. Also, if you want to go the cheap route you could always just get Open Office for free. Almost like Microsoft Office, but free.

With iWork you would get
    keynote - powerpoint (much better than MO)
    pages - word (different workflows MO=IW)
    numbers- excel (MO is better)

5. SR71 macrumors 68000

6. Sugi209 thread starter macrumors newbie

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

Thank you all for the reply. I'll definitely give both them a try.

7. shaverzbt macrumors newbie