iWork or Office 2008 for Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dizzydot, Apr 21, 2010.

1. dizzydot macrumors member

dizzydot

Hi all,

Hope I'm asking this in the right section (if not please feel free to move this as needed!)....

I'm totally new to Macs (actually I haven't got one yet but I'm ordering the MBP 13" in the next couple of weeks):D, I'm doing a degree part-time at university and I also work full time.

At the moment I use microsoft office 2007 for my course and job (essays, invoices etc), so I use word, powerpoint and (occasionally onenote and excel). I know most of my lecturers use word so I would have to be able to email them my documents in this format.

I was all set to get iWork pre-installed but now I keep hearing about compatability issues when saving/sending/sharing documents that are made with pages and then saved and shared in word format - tables misaligning, bits missing etc.

I then looked at Office 2008 for Mac but the reviews on this are a bit so-so aswell, saying it's not as good as the windows version, features hard to find etc.

So now I'm really confused which bit of software to get.:confused:
    I know I could run office for windows with bootcamp but my copy of windows is OEM and I don't want to go to the hassle and expense of buying another copy of windows and have to keep re-booting from one OS to the other.

Has anyone got any opinions on the 2 programs, particularly from a new windows -> mac user point of view?

Hope my question(s) make sense and thanks in advance for any info :)

dizzydot.

2. notjustjay macrumors 603

notjustjay

For your needs I would go with Office. It's not that bad, although it does have its quirks. If you're already using Office for Windows then this is no surprise to you. The interface is a bit different but you get used to it pretty quick (certainly easier than the transition to the "Ribbon" that I still struggle with).