iWork vs. MS Office

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dominicansrul93, Jun 16, 2007.

1. dominicansrul93 macrumors regular

I just got a macbook and I am completely new to macs. I'm starting high school this year and I am in need of some type of office suite. I have used office 04 on mac and I hated it. I hate the fact that the speed is super slow since it doesn't run natively and I hate the interface. I saw iWork and I really like it. I want to know if iWork's word processor works wit MS word format and if keynote works with MS office. I can wait til office 07 for mac or watever it is going to be called. And I can wait til the next iWork. I really want to use iwork specially since there are rumors of the 3d and all those things.

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

I recommend NeoOffice :)

At least until MS Office 08, or OpenOffice goes native...

3. marvinsum macrumors member

It really depends whether you want to save it in Office formats (.doc, .ppt, .xls, etc). I find iWork has compatibility issues even when you try to export it. Sometimes it even crashes when exporting to PDF. :rolleyes:

But if you're not tied down to a single format, then iWork is amazing.

4. Wolfpup macrumors 68030

I'd guess the next Office will be 2008 (they're usually one "year" higher than the Windows version). It'll probably launch later this year...although I don't remember hearing anything about it for a while.

I *think* I remember hearing that iWork supports importing/exporting Word documents-pretty sure it does.

You might consider Open Office, which is the big open source office suite.
    http://www.openoffice.org/

I don't like the interface as well as Microsoft Office, but the price is sure right (free), and it does import and export MS Office files. Super complex formating may not translate exactly the same, but for most stuff it should be fine.