iwork vs. neo office

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ToneMonkey, Oct 5, 2007.

1. ToneMonkey macrumors member

Hi all-

This is my first post here. Apologies if this is a "clueless newbie question" that has already been asked and answered.

I'm definitely making the move from WinTel to a 24" iMac as soon as leopard becomes available.

I'd be interested in any personal experience and insights you folks might have of iwork 08 vs. the current version of neo office.

I write manuals for a living, so I'm comfortable learning new apps, but the wife... not so much. I really hate the idea of buying MS Office for the Mac, just because I have truly grown to hate anything MS or Windows, but I digress.

So should I have iwork preloaded on my new system?

I use spreadsheets quite a lot but I don't use advanced features and functions much. Just plain vanilla arithmetic operations and sorting.

I produce the occasional letter in Word, but I'd be cool using anything remotely compatible. Again, the wife might be more of an issue there.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. stockcerts macrumors 65816

I can't give you a fare comparison between Works and Neo Office, but I have begun using Neo Office in the past two weeks. It has a polished interface and to me feels like commercial software. I've heard some say that the spreadsheet program isn't up to speed for full featured business use, but may suffice for home users. I've used the word processing portion of the package and I like it. I'm sure others will chime in with their assesments.

3. Much Ado macrumors 68000

Much Ado

This is crucial, i guess. If you don't need the advanced features that you might find in, say, MS Office, then iWork is a fantastic package. It will look light-years better than NeoOffice from a GUI point of view, and what it does it does superbly.