Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Natman

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 1, 2007
Hi all I'm a Mac newb, having just bought a blackbook in December. I installed MS Office for Mac 04 but I don't like it as much as Office '07 on PC's. How much better is iWorks? What about this NeoOffice I hear about? Thanks for the help!

Mac In School

macrumors 65816
Jun 21, 2007
NeoOffice: Ugly, but gets the job done.

Numbers: Less powerful than Excel (no pivot tables or advanced scientific functions), but much more flexible creative options.

Pages: Less powerful than Word as a pure word processor, but easy to use, integrates with OS X nicely, and does everything most people do.

Keynote: Kicks the crap out of Powerpoint.

If you do a lot of document collaboration with Windows/Office users, stick with MS Office or NeoOffice. If you just need to share with Windows users, consider using iWork and sending the Windows users PDF files.

Italchef

macrumors 6502
Nov 3, 2003
Maple, Ontario
If you do a lot of document collaboration with Windows/Office users, stick with MS Office or NeoOffice. If you just need to share with Windows users, consider using iWork and sending the Windows users PDF files.

I'm in the same boat here. I'll be sending basic spread sheets and word documents back and forth from my Macbook to my work's PC that's running Microsoft Office. Are you saying that iWork is not really compatible with Microsoft Office documents?

Thanks
Mick

kuwisdelu

macrumors 65816
Jan 13, 2008
I'm in the same boat here. I'll be sending basic spread sheets and word documents back and forth from my Macbook to my work's PC that's running Microsoft Office. Are you saying that iWork is not really compatible with Microsoft Office documents?

Thanks
Mick